Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Notes to the Financial Statements 2008-2009 (unaudited)

Statement of Management Responsibility

Responsibility for the integrity and objectivity of the accompanying financial statements for the year ended March 31, 2009 and all information contained in these statements rests with departmental management. These financial statements have been prepared by management in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Management is responsible for the integrity and objectivity of the information in these financial statements. Some of the information in the financial statements is based on management’s best estimates and judgment and gives due consideration to materiality. To fulfil its accounting and reporting responsibilities, management maintains a set of accounts that provides a centralized record of the department’s financial transactions. Financial information submitted to the Public Accounts of Canada and included in the department’s Departmental Performance Report is consistent with these financial statements.

Management maintains a system of financial management and internal control designed to provide reasonable assurance that financial information is reliable, that assets are safeguarded and that transactions are in accordance with the Financial Administration Act, are executed in accordance with prescribed regulations, within Parliamentary authorities, and are properly recorded to maintain accountability of Government funds. Management also seeks to ensure the objectivity and integrity of data in its financial statements by careful selection, training and development of qualified staff, by organizational arrangements that provide appropriate divisions of responsibility, and by communication programs aimed at ensuring that regulations, policies, standards and managerial authorities are understood throughout the department.

The financial statements of the department have not been audited.

(Vacant)
The paper version was signed by
Deputy Head Claude Majeau
Ottawa, Canada Senior Financial Officer

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in dollars)    

2009 2008
Operating Expenses    
Salaries and employee benefits 2 028 432 1 810 901
Professional and special services 443 763 426 917
Accommodation 228 162 216 260
Travel 138 261 154 814
Information services 102 084 56 007
Rentals 65 845 42 150
Telecommunication services 45 653 42 003
Utilities, materials and supplies 44 386 36 524
Informatics equipment and software 16 200 12 843
Amortization 11 038 11 039
Postage and freight 7 354 7 861
Repairs and maintenance 1 931 12 499
Other 618 4 657
Net cost of operations 3 133 727 2 834 475

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
At March 31

(in dollars)
ASSETS 2009 2008
Financial assets    
Accounts receivable (Note 8) 41 574 69 276
Non-financial assets    
Tangible capital assets (Note 5) 64 115 75 153
TOTAL 105 689 144 429
Liabilities    
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities (Note 4) 185 865 226 054
Vacation pay and compensatory leave 163 845 123 317
Employee future benefits (Note 6) 247 595 197 211
Total liabilities 597 305 546 582
Equity of Canada (491 616) (402 153)
TOTAL 105 689 144 429
Contractual obligations (Note 7)    
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement of Equity of Canada (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in dollars)
  2009 2008
Equity of Canada, beginning of year (402 153) (268 977)
Net cost of operations (3 133 727) (2 834 475)
Current year appropriations used (Note 3) 2 678 055 2 520 656
Refund of previous year accounts payable (1 486) (13 244)
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund (Note 3) 12 487 (127 156)
Services provided without charge (Note 8) 355 208 321 043
Equity of Canada, end of year (491 616) (402 153)
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement of Cash Flow (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in dollars)
2009 2008
Operating activities
Net cost of operations 3 133 727 2 834 475
Non cash items:
Services provided without charge (Note 8) (355 208) (321 043)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (Note 5) (11 038) (11 039)
Variations in Statement of Financial Position:
Increase in liabilities (50 723) (106 841)
Decrease in receivables (27 702) (15 296)
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 2 689 056 2 380 256
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these financial statements.

1 - Authority and Objectives

The Copyright Board of Canada is an independent administrative agency which has been conferred department status for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. Its mandate stems from the Copyright Act.

The Copyright Board of Canada plays a major role in the collective administration of copyright, particularly in respect of the public performance and the communication to the public, by telecommunication, of musical works, the retransmission of distant radio and television signals are concerned, the private copying regime and the reproduction right. The Board plays a surveillance role in three ways with respect to collective societies which administer very large repertoires of work created by a multitude of originators both in Canada and in other countries: as an economic regulatory body, by approving tariff proposals by the various copyright collective societies;as an arbitrator in private disputes;and as an arbitrator of the public interest.

The Board’s principal mandate is to set royalties which are fair and reasonable for both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works, as well as issuing non-exclusive licences authorizing the use of works when the copyright owner cannot be located.

The Board reports annually to Parliament through the Minister of Industry.

2 - Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The financial statements have been prepared in accordance with accounting standards issued by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations – the Department is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. Appropriations provided to the department do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since appropriations are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the statement of operations and the statement of financial position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 3 provides a high-level reconciliation between the two bases of reporting.
  2. Net cash provided by Government – The department operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF). The CRF is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the department is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the department are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the federal government.
  3. Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund is the difference between the net cash provided by the Government and appropriations used in the year, excluding the amount of non-respendable revenue recorded by the department. It results from timing between when a transaction affects appropriations and when it is processed through the CRF.
  4. Revenues – Revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event occurred that gave rise to the revenues.
  5. Expenses – Expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:
    • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation, and the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  6. Employee future benefits
    1. Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. The department’s contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total departmental obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the department to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    2. Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  7. Account receivables are stated at amounts expected to be ultimately realized;a provision is made for receivables where recovery is considered uncertain.
  8. Tangible capital assets – All tangible capital assets having an initial cost of $10,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The department does not capitalize intangibles, works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value, assets located on Indian Reserves and museum collections.

    Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the assets as follows:

    Asset Amortization period
    Machinery and Equipment 10 years

  9. Measurement uncertainty –– The preparation of these financial statements in accordance with accounting standards issued by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the financial statements. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. The most significant items where estimates are used are the liability for employee severance benefits and the useful life of tangible capital assets. Actual results could differ from those estimated. Management’s estimates are reviewed periodically and, as adjustments become necessary, they are recorded in the financial statements in the year they become known.

3 - Parliamentary Appropriations

The Department receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the statement of operations and the statement of financial position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Department has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences between net results of operations and appropriations are reconciled in the following tables.

3a) Reconciliation of net cost of appropriations to current year appropriations used

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Net cost of operations 3 133 727 2 834 475
Adjustments for items affecting net cost    
of operations but not affecting appropriations    
Add (Less):    
Services received without charge (Note 8) (355 208) (321 043)
Employee severance benefits (Note 6) (50 384) (18 210)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (Note 5) (11 038) (11 039)
Vacation pay and compensatory leave (40 528) 23 229
Refund of previous year accounts payable 1 486 13 244
Current year appropriations used 2 678 055 2 520 656

3b) Appropriations provided and used

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Vote 45 - Operating expenditures 2 518 446 2 430 700
Statutory Amounts 249 170 235 047
Less:    
Lapsed appropriations: Operating (89 561) (145 091)
Current year appropriations used 2 678 055 2 520 656

3c) Reconciliation of net cash provided by Government to current year appropriations used

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 2 689 056 2 380 256
Refund of previous year accounts payable 1 486 13 244
  2 690 542 2 393 500
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund
Variation in accounts payable and accrued liabilities (40 189) 111 860
Variation in accounts receivable and advances 27 702 15 296
Total (12 487) 127 156
Current year appropriations used 2 678 055 2 520 656

4. Accounts payable and accrued liabilities

(in dollars)
2009 2008
External
Accrued liabilities 116 724 175 939
Accrued salaries and wages 49 712 41 863
Total External 166 436 217 802
Other Federal Government departments 19 429 8 252
Total Accounts payable and accrued liabilities 185 865 226 054

5. Tangible Capital Assets

(in dollars)
Cost Accumulated amortization 2009 2008
Capital asset class Opening balance Closing balance Opening Balance Amortization Closing Balance Net book value Net book value
Machinery and equipment 158 827 158 827 83 674 11 038 94 712   64 115 75 153
Total 158 827 158 827 83 674 11 038 94 712 64 115 75 153
*Amoritization expense for the year ended March 31, 2009 is $11,038 (2007-2008 $11,039)

6. Employee Benefits

  1. Pension benefits: The department’s employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2 percent per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Québec Pension Plans benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

    Both the employees and the department contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2008-2009 expense amounts to $225,997 ($212,953 adjusted in 2007-2008), which represents approximately 2.0 (2.1 in 2007-2008) times the contributions by employees.

    The department’s responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan’s sponsor.

  2. Severance benefits: The department provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:
    (in dollars) 2009 2008
    Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 197 211 179 001
    Expense for the year 50 384 18 331
    Benefits paid during the year - (121)
    Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 247 595 197 211

7. Contractual Obligations

The nature of the department’s activities can result in some large multi-year contracts and obligations whereby the department will be obligated to make future payments when the services/goods are received. Significant contractual obligations that can be reasonably estimated are summarized as follows:

(in dollars) 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 and thereafter Total
Acquisition of goods and services 554 694 6 057 4 748 812 - 566 311
Employer contributions 353 776 - - - - 353 776
Total 908 470 6 057 4 748 812 - 920 087

8. Related party transactions

The department is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies, and Crown corporations. The department enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms. Also, during the year, the department received services, which were obtained without charge from other Government departments as presented in part (a).

(a) Services provided without charge:

During the year the department received without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge have been recognized in the department's Statement of Operations as follows:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Accommodation 228 162 216 260
Employer's contribution to the insurance plans 127 046 104 783
Total 355 208 321 043

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada, are not included as an expense in the department's Statement of Operations.

(b) Receivables outstanding at year-end with related parties:

(in dollars) 2009 2008
Receivables from other Federal Government departments 41 574 69 276

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Notes afférentes aux états financiers 2008-2009 (non vérifiés)

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction

La responsabilité de l’intégrité et de l’objectivité des états financiers ci-joints pour l’exercice terminé le 31 mars 2009 et de toute l’information figurant dans ces états incombe à la direction du ministère. Ces états financiers ont été préparés par la direction conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

La direction est responsable de l’intégrité et de l’objectivité de l’information présentée dans les états financiers. Certaines informations présentées dans les états financiers sont fondées sur les meilleures estimations et le jugement de la direction et tiennent compte de l’importance relative. Pour s’acquitter de ses obligations au chapitre de la comptabilité et de la présentation des rapports, la direction tient des comptes qui permettent l’enregistrement centralisé des opérations financières du ministère. L’information financière soumise pour la préparation des Comptes publics du Canada et incluse dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement du ministère concorde avec les états financiers ci-joints.

La direction possède un système de gestion financière et de contrôle interne conçu pour fournir une assurance raisonnable que l’information financière est fiable, que les actifs sont protégés et que les opérations sont conformes à la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, qu’elles sont exécutées en conformité avec les règlements, qu’elles respectent les autorisations du Parlement et qu’elles sont comptabilisées de manière à rendre compte de l’utilisation des fonds du gouvernement. La direction veille également à l’objectivité et à l’intégrité des données de ses états financiers par la sélection appropriée, la formation et le perfectionnement d’employés qualifiés, par une organisation assurant une séparation appropriée des responsabilités et par des programmes de communication visant à assurer la compréhension des règlements, des politiques, des normes et des responsabilités de gestion dans tout le ministère.

Les états financiers du ministère n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une vérification.

(Vacant)  
  La version imprimée a été signée par
Le sous-chef Claude Majeau
Ottawa, Canada L’agent financier supérieur

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État des résultats (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en dollars)    
  2009 2008
Charges    
   Salaires et avantages sociaux 2 028 432 1 810 901
   Services professionnels et spéciaux 443 763 426 917
   Installations 228 162 216 260
   Déplacement 138 261 154 814
   Services d'information 102 084 56 007
   Location 65 845 42 150
   Services de télécommunications 45 653 42 003
   Commodités, matériels et fournitures 44 386 36 524
   Équipements informatiques et logiciels 16 200 12 843
   Amortissement 11 038 11 039
   Frais postaux et transport 7 354 7 861
   Réparations et entretien 1 931 12 499
   Autres 618 4 657
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 133 727 2 834 475
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.  

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État de la situation financière (non vérifié)
au 31 mars

(en dollars)
ACTIFS 2009 2008
Actifs financiers
Débiteurs (note 8) 41 574 69 276
Actifs non-financiers
Immobilisations corporelles (note 5) 64 115 75 153
TOTAL 105 689 144 429
Passifs
Créditeurs et charges à payer (note 4) 185 865 226 054
Indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 163 845 123 317
Avantages sociaux futurs (note 6) 247 595 197 211
   Total du passif 597 305 546 582
Avoir du Canada (491 616) (402 153)
TOTAL 105 689 144 429
Obligations contractuelles (note 7)
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État de l'avoir du Canada (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en dollars)
2009 2008
Avoir du Canada, début de l'exercice (402 153) (268 977)
Coût de fonctionnement net (3 133 727) (2 834 475)
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés (note 3) 2 678 055 2 520 656
Remboursement des dépenses de l'année précédente (1 486) (13 244)
Variation de la situation nette du Trésor (Note 3) 12 487 (127 156)
Services fournis gratuitement (note 8) 355 208 321 043
Avoir du Canada, fin de l'exercice (491 616) (402 153)
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État des flux de trésorerie (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en dollars)
2009 2008
Activités de fonctionnement
   Coût de fonctionnement net 3 133 727 2 834 475
Éléments n'affectant pas l'encaisse :
   Services fournis gratuitement (note 8) (355 208) (321 043)
   Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (note 5) (11 038) (11 039)
Variations de l'état de la situation financière
   Augmentation du passif (50 723) (106 841)
   Diminution des comptes débiteurs (27 702) (15 296)
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement du Canada 2 689 056 2 380 256
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

1 - Autorisation et objectifs         

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est un organisme administratif autonome qui a reçu le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat découle de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

La Commission joue un rôle capital au niveau de la gestion collective du droit d’auteur, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d’œuvres musicales, la retransmission des signaux éloignés de radio et de télévision, le régime de copie privée et le droit de reproduction. En effet, à l’égard des sociétés de gestion qui gèrent de très larges répertoires d’œuvres créées par une multitude de créateurs venant à la fois du Canada et de l’étranger, la Commission assume un rôle de surveillance et ce, à trois titres : comme organisme de réglementation économique en approuvant les propositions de tarifs des différentes sociétés de gestion, comme arbitre de différends privés puis comme arbitre de l’intérêt public.

Le mandat principal de la Commission est de fixer des redevances qui soient justes et raisonnables tant pour les titulaires de droits que pour les utilisateurs des œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur ainsi que de délivrer des licences non exclusives qui permettent d’utiliser en toute légalité des œuvres dont les titulaires de droits d’auteur sont introuvables.

La Commission fait rapport au Parlement par le biais du ministre de l’Industrie.

2 - Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

Ces états financiers ont été préparés conformément aux normes comptables établies par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

Ces conventions sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementaires – le ministère est financé par des crédits parlementaires du gouvernement du Canada. Les crédits qui lui ont été consentis ne correspondent pas à la présentation des rapports financiers prévus par les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada, étant fondés dans une large mesure sur les besoins de trésorerie. Ainsi, les éléments consignés dans l’état des résultats et dans l’état de la situation financière ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux pourvus par les crédits parlementaires. La note 3 établit un rapprochement de haut niveau entre les deux méthodes de présentation.
  2. Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement –– Le ministère fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l’encaisse reçue par le ministère est déposée au Trésor et tous les décaissements faits par le ministère sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement est la différence entre toutes les rentrées et les sorties de fonds, y compris les opérations entre les ministères au sein du gouvernement fédéral.
  3. La variation de la situation nette du Trésor correspond à la différence entre l’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et les crédits utilisés au cours d’un exercice, à l’exclusion du montant des revenus non disponibles comptabilisés par le ministère. Il découle d’écarts temporaires entre le moment où une opération touche un crédit et le moment où elle est traitée par le Trésor.
  4. Revenus – Ceux-ci sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice où les opérations ou les faits sous-jacents surviennent.
  5. Charges : Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice :
    • Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi respectives.
    • Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les services juridiques sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif.
  6. Avantages sociaux futurs
    1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, régime multi employeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations du ministère au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale du ministère découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, le ministère n’est pas tenu de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime.
    2. Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit à des indemnités de départ, prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou les conditions d’emploi. Le coût de ces indemnités s’accumule à mesure que les employés effectuent les services nécessaires pour les gagner. Le coût des avantages sociaux gagnés par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information provenant des résultats du passif déterminé sur une base actuarielle pour les prestations de départ pour l’ensemble du gouvernement.
  7. Les débiteurs sont comptabilisés en fonction des montants que l’on prévoit réaliser. Des provisions sont établies pour les débiteurs dont le recouvrement est incertain.
  8. Immobilisations corporelles — Toutes les immobilisations corporelles et les améliorations locatives dont le coût initial est d’au moins 10 000 $ sont comptabilisées à leur coût d’achat. Le ministère n’inscrit pas à l’actif les biens incorporels, les œuvres d’art et les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique, les biens situés dans les réserves indiennes et les collections dans les musées.

    Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’immobilisation, comme suit :

    Actif Période d’amortissement
    Machines et matériel 10 ans
  9. Incertitude relative à la mesure — La préparation de ces états financiers conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, qui respectent les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public, exige de la direction qu’elle fasse des estimations et pose des hypothèses qui influent sur les montants déclarés des actifs, des passifs, des revenus et des charges présentés dans les états financiers. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Les principaux éléments pour lesquels des estimations sont faites sont le passif pour les indemnités de départ et la durée de vie utile des immobilisations corporelles. Les résultats réels pourraient différer des estimations de manière significative. Les estimations de la direction sont examinées périodiquement et, à mesure que les rajustements deviennent nécessaires, ils sont constatés dans les états financiers de l’exercice où ils sont connus.

3 - Crédits parlementaires

Le ministère reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement au moyen de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats et l’état de la situation financière d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans des exercices précédents, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront dans des exercices futurs. En conséquence, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés en fonction du financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou de la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux qui suivent.

3a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits parlementaires de l'exercice en cours utilisés

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 133 727 2 834 475
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le
coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence
Ajouter (déduire) :
   Services fournis gratuitement (note 8) (355 208) (321 043)
   Indemnités de départ  (note 6) (50 384) (18 210)
   Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (note 5) (11 038) (11 039)
   Indemnités de vacance et congés compensatoires (40 528) 23 229
   Remboursement des dépenses de l'année précédente 1 486 13 244
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 2 678 055 2 520 656

3b) Crédits fournis et utilisés

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Crédit 45 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 2 518 446 2 430 700
Sommes statutaires 249 170 235 047
Moins
Crédits annulés : Fonctionnement (89 561) (145 091)
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 2 678 055 2 520 656

3c) Rapprochement de l'encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement et des crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement du Canada 2 689 056 2 380 256
Remboursement des dépenses de l'année dernière 1 486 13 244
2 690 542 2 393 500
Variation de la situation nette du Trésor
      Variation des créditeurs et des charges à payer (40 189) 111 860
      Variation des débiteurs et des avances 27 702 15 296
Total (12 487) 127 156
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés 2 678 055 2 520 656

4. Créditeurs et charges à payer

(en dollars)
2009 2008
Externes
   Charges à payer 116 724 175 939
   Rémunérations dues 49 712 41 863
   Total (externes) 166 436 217 802
Autres ministères fédéraux 19 429 8 252
Total des créditeurs et charges à payer 185 865 226 054

5. Immobilisations corporelles

(en dollars)
Coût Amortissement cumulé 2009 2008
Catégorie d'immobili-sation Solde d'ouverture Solde de clôture   Solde d'ouverture Amortisse-ment Sode de clôture   Valeur comptable Valeur comptable
Machines et matériel 158 827 158 827 83 674 11 038 94 712   64 115 75 153
Total 158 827 158 827   83 674 11 038 94 712   64 115 75 153
*La charge d'amortissement pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2009 s'élève à 11 038 $ (2007-2008  11 039 $)

6. Avantages sociaux

  1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés du ministère participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

    Les employés aussi bien que le ministère versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. En 20082009 les charges s’élèvent à 225 997 $ (212 953 $ rajusté en 2007-2008), soit environ 2,0 fois (2,1 fois en 2007-2008) les cotisations des employés.

    La responsabilité du ministère relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

  2. Indemnités de départ : Le ministère verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici quelles étaient les indemnités de départ au 31 mars :
    (en dollars) 2009 2008
    Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, début de l'exercice 197 211 179 001
    Charge pour l'exercice 50 384 18 331
    Prestations versées durant l'exercice - (121)
    Obligation au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l'exercice 247 595 197 211

7. Obligations contractuelles

De par leur nature, les activités du ministère peuvent donner lieu à des contrats et des obligations en vertu desquels le ministère sera tenu d’effectuer des paiements échelonnés sur plusieurs années pour l’acquisition de biens ou de services. Voici les principales obligations contractuelles pour lesquelles une estimation raisonnable peut être faite :

(en dollars) 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 et  exercices ultérieurs Total
Acquisition de biens et de services 554 694 6 057 4 748 812 - 566 311
Contributions de l'employeur 353 776 - - - - 353 776
Total 908 470 6 057 4 748 812 - 920 087

8. Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, le ministère est apparenté à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada. Le ministère conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales. De plus, au cours de l’exercice, le ministère reçoit gratuitement des services d’autres ministères, comme il est indiqué à la partie a).

a) Services fournis gratuitement :

Au cours de l’exercice, le ministère reçoit gratuitement des services d’autres ministères (installations, frais juridiques et cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires). Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l’état des résultats du ministère :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Installations 228 162 216 260
Cotisation de l'employeur aux régimes d'assurance 127 046 104 783
Total 355 208 321 043

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité de sorte qu’un seul ministère mène sans frais certaines activités au nom de tous. Le coût de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d’émission des chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, ne sont pas inclus à titre de charge dans l’état des résultats du ministère.

b) Solde des débiteurs à la fin de l’exercice entre apparentés :

(en dollars) 2009 2008
Débiteurs : Autres ministères fédéraux 41 574 69 276