Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Notes to the Financial Statements 2009-2010 (unaudited)

Statement of Management Responsibility

Responsibility for the compilation, content and presentation of the accompanying future-oriented financial information for the years ended March 31, 2010 and 2011 and all information contained in these statements rests with Copyright Board of Canada management. The future-oriented financial information has been prepared by management in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. The future-oriented financial information is submitted for Part III of Estimates (Report on Plans and Priorities) and will be used in the Copyright Board of Canada’s Departmental Performance Report to compare with actual results.

Management is responsible for the integrity and objectivity of the information contained in future-oriented financial information and for the process of developing assumptions. Assumptions and estimates are based upon information available and known to management at the time of development, reflect current business and economic conditions, and assume a continuation of current governmental priorities and consistency in the Copyright Board of Canada’s mandate and strategic objectives. Much of the future-oriented financial information is based on these assumptions, best estimates and judgment and gives due consideration to materiality. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. However, as with all such assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty surrounding them. This uncertainty increases as the forecast horizon extends.

The actual results achieved for the fiscal years covered in the accompanying future-oriented financial information will vary from the information presented and the variations may be material.

The future-oriented financial statements of the Copyright Board of Canada have not been audited.

(Vacant)
The paper version was signed by
Deputy Head Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
Gilles McDougall A/Senior Financial Officer Ottawa, Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Future-oriented Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)    

Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Operating Expenses    
Salaries and employee benefits 2,189 2,121
Professional and special services 560 560
Accommodation 229 224
Travel 207 206
Information services 94 94
Rentals 76 76
Telecommunication services 60 60
Utilities, materials and supplies 56 56
Other 53 53
Net cost of operations 3,521 3,450

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements

Copyright Board of Canada
Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
At March 31

(in thousands of dollars)
ASSETS Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Financial assets    
Accounts receivable (Note 8) 33 33
Non-financial assets    
Tangible capital assets (Note 7) 42 53
TOTAL 75 86
LIABILITIES    
Accounts payable and accrued liabilities (Note 8) 198 198
Vacation pay and compensatory leave 202 183
Employee future benefits (Note 9) 323 282
Total liabilities 723 663
Equity of Canada (648) (577)
TOTAL 75 86
Contractual obligations (Note 10)    
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements

Copyright Board of Canada
Future-oriented Statement of Equity of Canada (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Equity of Canada, beginning of year (577) (492)
Net cost of operations (3,521) (3,450)
Current year appropriations used (Note 5) 3,110 3,054
Change in net position in the Consolidated Revenue Fund - (21)
Services provided without charge (Note 11) 340 332
Equity of Canada, end of year (648) (577)
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements

Copyright Board of Canada
Future-oriented Statement of Cash Flow (unaudited)
For the year ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)
Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Operating activities
Net cost of operations 3,521 3,450
Non cash items:
Services provided without charge (Note 11) (340) (332)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (Note 7) (11) (11)
Variations in Statement of Financial Position:
Increase in liabilities (60) (66)
Decrease in financial assets - (9)
Net cash provided by Government of Canada 3,110 3,032
The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements

1 - Authority and Objectives

The Copyright Board of Canada is an independent administrative agency which has been conferred department status for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. Its mandate stems from the Copyright Act.

The Copyright Board of Canada plays a major role in the collective administration of copyright, particularly where the public performance and the communication to the public, by telecommunication, of musical works, as well as the retransmission of distant radio and television signals are concerned. The Copyright Board of Canada plays a surveillance role in three ways with respect to collective societies which administer very large repertoires of work created by a multitude of originators both in Canada and in other countries: as an economic regulatory body, by approving tariff proposals by the various copyright collective societies; as an arbitrator in private disputes; and as an arbitrator of the public interest.

The Copyright Board of Canada’s principal mandate is to set royalties which are fair and reasonable for both copyright owners and the users of copyright-protected works, as well as issuing non-exclusive licences authorizing the fully legal use of works when the copyright owner cannot be located.

The Copyright Board of Canada reports annually to Parliament through the Minister of Industry.

2 - Underlying Assumptions

These future-oriented statements have been prepared:

  • as at December 16, 2009
  • on the basis of government policies, government priorities and external environment at the time the future-oriented financial information was finalized
  • according to the requirements of Treasury Board Accounting policies which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector
  • on the basis that the resources provided will enable the Copyright Board of Canada to deliver the expected results specified in the Report on Plans and Priorities
  • on the basis of historical costs and trends.

3 - Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to accurately forecast final results for 2010/11, actual results achieved are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, Copyright Board of Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes to appropriations or forecast financial information made in ensuing supplementary estimates.

4 - Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented financial information has been prepared in accordance with accounting standards issued by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat which are consistent with Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Parliamentary appropriations – the Copyright Board of Canada is financed by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary appropriations. Appropriations provided to the Copyright Board of Canada do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since appropriations are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Consequently, items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations and the future-oriented statement of financial position are not necessarily the same as those provided through appropriations from Parliament. Note 5 provides a high-level reconciliation between the two bases of reporting.
  2. Net Cash Provided by Government – The Copyright Board of Canada operates within the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF), which is administered by the Receiver General for Canada. All cash received by the department is deposited to the CRF and all cash disbursements made by the Copyright Board of Canada are paid from the CRF. The net cash provided by Government is the difference between all cash receipts and all cash disbursements including transactions between departments of the federal government.
  3. Forecasted expenses – The following expenses are recorded on the accrual basis:
    • Vacation pay and compensatory leave are expensed as the benefits accrue to employees under their respective terms of employment.
    • Services provided without charge by other government departments for accommodation, and the employer’s contribution to the health and dental insurance plans are recorded as operating expenses at their estimated cost.
  4. Employee future benefits
    1. Pension benefits: Eligible employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, a multiemployer plan administered by the Government of Canada. The Copyright Board of Canada’s contributions to the Plan are charged to expenses in the year incurred and represent the total departmental obligation to the Plan. Current legislation does not require the Copyright Board of Canada to make contributions for any actuarial deficiencies of the Plan.
    2. Severance benefits: Employees are entitled to severance benefits under labour contracts or conditions of employment. These benefits are accrued as employees render the services necessary to earn them. The obligation relating to the benefits earned by employees is calculated using information derived from the results of the actuarially determined liability for employee severance benefits for the Government as a whole.
  5. Account receivables are stated at amounts expected to be ultimately realized; a provision is made for receivables where recovery is considered uncertain.
  6. Tangible capital assets – All tangible capital assets having an initial cost of $10,000 or more are recorded at their acquisition cost. The Copyright Board of Canada does not capitalize intangibles; works of art and historical treasures that have cultural, aesthetic or historical value; assets located on Indian Reserves; and museum collections.

    Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the assets as follows:

    Asset class Amortization period
    Machinery and Equipment 10 years

  7. Measurement uncertainty – The preparation of the future-oriented financial information requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of all the assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses reported in the future-oriented financial statements. Assumptions are based on information available and known to management at the time of development, reflect current business and economic conditions, and assume a continuation of current governmental priorities and consistency in Copyright Board of Canada’s mandate and strategic objectives. At the time of preparation of these statements, management believes the estimates and assumptions to be reasonable. Nonetheless, as with all such estimates and assumptions, there is a measure of uncertainty surrounding them. This uncertainty increases as the forecast horizon extends.

5 - Parliamentary Appropriations

The Copyright Board of Canada receives most of its funding through annual Parliamentary appropriations. Items recognized in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations and the Future-oriented Statement of Financial Position in one year may be funded through Parliamentary appropriations in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, the Copyright Board of Canada has different net results of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences between net results of operations and appropriations are reconciled in the following table.

Reconciliation of net cost of operations to appropriations available for use:

(in thousands of dollars) Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Net cost of operations 3,521 3,450
Adjustments for items affecting net cost
of operations but not affecting appropriations
   
Add (Less):    
Services provided without charge (340) (332)
Employee severance benefits (40) (35)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (11) (11)
Vacation pay and compensatory leave (20) (18)
Appropriations available for use 3,110 3,054

6 - Accounts Receibable

The Copyright Board of Canada does not operate in a revenue collecting environment. At the end of the year, its accounts receivable consist mainly of receivables from other government departments which are ultimately collectible. The estimated results in 2009–2010 for accounts receivable were based on a historical trend, and to be conservative, the same amount was used for the forecast in 2010–2011.

7 - Tangible Capital Assets

During the forecasting horizon, the Copyright Board of Canada does not plan on acquiring any capital assets greater than $10,000.

Therefore, in the upcoming years, only the existing assets will continue to depreciate at a rate of $11,039 per year.

8 - Accounts Payable

The Copyright Board of Canada’s accounts payable consist mainly of salary accruals, payables to other government departments, and other year end accruals. The estimated results in 2009–2010 for accounts payable were based on a historical trend, and to be conservative, the same amount was used for the forecast in 2010–2011.

9 - Employee Benefits

  1. Pension benefits

    The Copyright Board of Canada’s employees participate in the Public Service Pension Plan, which is sponsored and administered by the Government of Canada. Pension benefits accrue up to a maximum period of 35 years at a rate of 2% per year of pensionable service, times the average of the best five consecutive years of earnings. The benefits are integrated with Canada/Quebec Pension Plan benefits and they are indexed to inflation.

    Both the employees and the Copyright Board of Canada contribute to the cost of the Plan. The 2010–2011 forecasted expense amounts to $232,682 ($229,315 forecasted in 2009–2010).

    The Copyright Board of Canada’s responsibility with regard to the Plan is limited to its contributions. Actuarial surpluses or deficiencies are recognized in the financial statements of the Government of Canada, as the Plan’s sponsor.

  2. Severance benefits

    The Copyright Board of Canada provides severance benefits to its employees based on eligibility, years of service and final salary. These severance benefits are not pre-funded. Benefits will be paid from future appropriations. Information about the severance benefits, measured as at March 31, is as follows:

    (in thousands of dollars) Forecast
    2010-11
    Estimated Results
    2009-10
    Accrued benefit obligation, beginning of year 283 248
    Expense for the year 40 102
    Benefits paid during the year - (68)
    Accrued benefit obligation, end of year 323 282

10. Contractual Obligations

The nature of the Copyright Board of Canada’s activities can result in some large multi-year contracts and obligations whereby the Copyright Board of Canada will be obligated to make future payments when the services/goods are received. No significant contractual obligations have been identified.

11. Related party transactions

The Copyright Board of Canada is related as a result of common ownership to all Government of Canada departments, agencies and Crown corporations. The Copyright Board of Canada enters into transactions with these entities in the normal course of business and on normal trade terms.

During the year the Copyright Board of Canada is forecasted to receive, without charge from other departments, accommodation and the employer's contribution to the health and dental insurance plans. These services without charge have been recognized in the Copyright Board of Canada’s Future-oriented Statement of Operations as follows:

(in thousands of dollars) Forecast
2010-11
Estimated Results
2009-10
Accommodation 229 224
Employer's contribution to the insurance plans 111 108
Total 340 332

The Government has structured some of its administrative activities for efficiency and cost-effectiveness purposes so that one department performs these on behalf of all without charge. The costs of these services, which include payroll and cheque issuance services provided by Public Works and Government Services Canada, are not included as an expense in Copyright Board of Canada’s Future-oriented Statement of Operations.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Notes afférentes aux états financiers 2009-2010 (non vérifiés)

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction

La responsabilité à l’égard de la compilation, du contenu et de la présentation de l’information prospective ci-jointe pour les exercices se terminant le 31 mars 2010 et le 31 mars 2011 incombe à la direction de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada. La direction a établi cette information financière prospective selon les conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public. L’information financière prospective est présentée aux fins de la partie III du Budget des dépenses (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités), et elle sera utilisée dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement pour faire des comparaisons avec les résultats réels.

La direction est responsable de l’intégrité et de l’objectivité de l’information figurant dans les états financiers prospectifs et du processus ayant servi à l’élaboration d’hypothèses. Les hypothèses et les estimations sont fondées sur l’information disponible et connue de la direction au moment de l’élaboration, elles correspondent à la conjoncture économique et commerciale actuelle, et elles supposent le maintien des priorités gouvernementales ainsi que la cohérence par rapport au mandat et aux objectifs stratégiques de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada. Une grande partie de l’information financière prospective est fondée sur ces hypothèses, sur les meilleures estimations et sur le jugement, et elle tient compte comme il se doit de l’importance relative. Au moment de la préparation des présents états financiers, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Cela dit, toute hypothèse comporte une part d’incertitude qui croît en proportion de l’horizon prévisionnel.

Les résultats des exercices couverts par les états financiers prospectifs ci joints différeront de l’information prospective présentée, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Les états financiers prospectifs de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada n’ont pas été vérifiés.

(Vacant)    
  La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
L’agent financier supérieur intérimaire Gilles McDougall Ottawa, Canada

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État des résultats prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)    
  Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Charges d'exploitation    
Salaires et avantages sociaux des employés 2 186 2 121
Services professionnels et spéciaux 560 560
Installations 229 224
Déplacements 207 206
Services d'information 94 94
Locations 76 76
Services de télécommunications 60 60
Services publics, matériel et fournitures 56 56
Autres 53 53
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 521 3 450
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers prospectifs.  

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
Bilan prospectif (non vérifié)
au 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)
ACTIF Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Actifs non financiers
Débiteurs (note 6) 33 33
Actifs non-financiers
Immobilisations corporelles (note 7) 42 53
TOTAL 75 86
PASSIF
Créditeurs et charges à payer (note 8) 198 198
Indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 202 183
Avantages sociaux futurs des employés (note 9) 323 282
   Total 723 663
Avoir du Canada (648) (577)
TOTAL 75 86
Obligations contractuelles (note 10)
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers prospectifs.

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État de l'avoir du Canada prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)
Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Avoir du Canada, début de l'exercice (577) (492)
Coût de fonctionnement net (3 521) (3 450)
Crédits de l'exercice en cours utilisés (note 5) 3 110 3 054
Variation de la situation nette du Trésor - (21)
Services fournis gratuitement (note 11) 340 332
Avoir du Canada, fin de l'exercice (648) (577)
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers prospectifs.

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
État des flux de trésorerie prospectif (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)
Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Activités de fonctionnement
   Coût de fonctionnement net 3 521 3 450
Éléments sans effet sur la trésorerie :
   Services fournis gratuitement (note 11) (340) (332)
   Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (note 7) (11) (11)
Variations du bilan
   Augmentation du passif (60) (66)
   Diminution des actifs financiers - (9)
Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement du Canada 3 110 3 032
Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers prospectifs.

1 - Autorisation et objectifs         

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est un organisme administratif autonome qui a reçu le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat découle de la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada joue un rôle capital dans la gestion collective du droit d’auteur, particulièrement en ce qui concerne l’exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d’œuvres musicales ainsi que la retransmission des signaux éloignés de radio et de télévision. En effet, à l’égard des sociétés de gestion qui gèrent de très larges répertoires d’œuvres créées par une multitude de créateurs venant à la fois du Canada et de l’étranger, la Commission assume un rôle de surveillance, et ce, à trois titres : comme organisme de réglementation économique en approuvant les propositions de tarifs des différentes sociétés de gestion, comme arbitre de différends privés et comme arbitre de l’intérêt public.

Le mandat principal de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est de fixer des redevances qui soient justes et raisonnables, tant pour les titulaires de droits que pour les utilisateurs des œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur, et de délivrer des licences non exclusives qui permettent d’utiliser en toute légalité des œuvres dont les titulaires de droits d’auteur sont introuvables.

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada fait rapport au Parlement tous les ans par l’intermédiaire du ministre de l’Industrie.

2 - Hypothèses sous-jacentes

Les présents états financiers prospectifs ont été préparés :

  • le 16 décembre 2009;
  • en fonction des politiques et des priorités gouvernementales ainsi que du contexte extérieur au moment où l’information financière prospective a été établie;
  • selon les exigences énoncées dans les conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont fondées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus au Canada pour le secteur public;
  • selon le principe que les ressources accordées permettront à la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada d’obtenir les résultats attendus aux termes de son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités;
  • en fonction des coûts d’origine et des tendances historiques.

3 - Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Bien que tous les efforts aient été déployés pour prévoir avec exactitude les résultats définitifs de 2010-2011, les résultats réels risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux crédits ou aux prévisions financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses ultérieurs.

4 - Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’information financière prospective a été préparée selon les conventions comptables du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont conformes aux principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Crédits parlementaires – La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est financée par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen de crédits parlementaires. Les crédits consentis à la Commission ne correspondent pas à la présentation des rapports financiers en conformité avec les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les crédits sont fondés, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Par conséquent, les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif et dans le bilan prospectif ne sont pas nécessairement les mêmes que ceux qui sont prévus par les crédits parlementaires. La note 5 présente un rapprochement général entre les deux méthodes.
  2. Encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement – La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada fonctionne au moyen du Trésor, qui est administré par le receveur général du Canada. La totalité de l’encaisse reçue par le ministère est déposée au Trésor, et tous les décaissements faits par la Commission sont prélevés sur le Trésor. L’encaisse nette fournie par le gouvernement correspond à l’écart entre tous les encaissements et tous les décaissements, y compris les opérations entre les ministères au sein du gouvernement fédéral.
  3. Dépenses prévues – Les dépenses ci-dessous sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice :
    • Les indemnités de vacances et les congés compensatoires sont portés aux dépenses au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent les droits en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi respectives.
    • Les services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères pour les locaux et les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires sont comptabilisés à titre de charges d’exploitation à leur coût estimatif.
  4. Avantages sociaux futurs des employés
    1. Prestations de retraite : Les employés admissibles participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, régime multi employeurs administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les cotisations de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada au régime sont passées en charges dans l’exercice au cours duquel elles sont engagées et elles représentent l’obligation totale du ministère découlant du régime. En vertu des dispositions législatives en vigueur, la Commission n’est pas tenue de verser des cotisations au titre de l’insuffisance actuarielle du régime.
    2. Indemnités de départ : Les employés ont droit aux indemnités de départ prévues dans leurs conventions collectives ou les conditions d’emploi. Ces indemnités s’accumulent à mesure que les employés effectuent les services nécessaires pour les gagner. Le coût des indemnités accumulées par les employés est calculé à l’aide de l’information provenant des résultats du passif sur une base actuarielle pour les prestations de départ pour l’ensemble de l’administration fédérale.
  5. Débiteurs – Les débiteurs sont comptabilisés en fonction des montants que l’on prévoit réaliser. Des provisions sont établies pour les débiteurs dont le recouvrement est incertain.
  6. Immobilisations corporelles – Toutes les immobilisations corporelles dont le coût initial est d’au moins 10 000 $ sont comptabilisées à leur coût d’achat. La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada n’inscrit pas à l’actif les biens incorporels, les œuvres d’art et les trésors historiques ayant une valeur culturelle, esthétique ou historique, les biens situés dans les réserves indiennes et les collections dans les musées.

    Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’immobilisation, comme suit :

    Vatégorie d'immobilisations Période d’amortissement
    Machines et matériel 10 ans
  7. Incertitude relative à la mesure – En vue de la préparation de l’information financière prospective, la direction doit préparer des estimations et faire des hypothèses qui auront une incidence sur le montant déclaré de l’ensemble des éléments d’actif, des éléments de passif, des revenus et des dépenses figurant dans les états financiers prospectifs. Les hypothèses sont fondées sur l’information disponible et connue de la direction au moment de l’élaboration, elles correspondent à la conjoncture économique et commerciale actuelle, et elles supposent le maintien des priorités gouvernementales ainsi que la cohérence par rapport au mandat et aux objectifs stratégiques de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada. Au moment de la préparation des états financiers prospectifs, la direction considère que les estimations et les hypothèses sont raisonnables. Cela dit, toute hypothèse comporte une part d’incertitude qui croît en proportion de l’horizon prévisionnel.

5 - Crédits parlementaires

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada reçoit la plus grande partie de son financement sous forme de crédits parlementaires annuels. Les postes inscrits dans l’état des résultats prospectif et dans le bilan prospectif d’un exercice peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires qui ont été autorisés dans des exercices précédents ou pendant l’exercice en cours, ou qui le seront dans des exercices futurs. En conséquence, les résultats d’exploitation nets de la Commission diffèrent selon qu’ils sont présentés selon le financement accordé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice. Les écarts entre les résultats d’exploitation nets et les crédits font l’objet d’un rapprochement dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des crédits parlementaires disponibles :

(en milliers de dollars) Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 521 3 450
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur les crédits
Ajouter (Déduire) :
   Services fournis gratuitement (340) (332)
   Indemnités de départ des employés (40) (35)
   Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (11) (11)
   Indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires (20) (18)
Crédits disponibles 3 110 3 054

6 - Débiteurs

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada ne fonctionne pas dans un contexte de recouvrement des recettes. À la fin de l’exercice, les débiteurs consistent principalement en des sommes à recevoir d’autres ministères qui seront en définitive recouvrables. Pour 2009 2010, les débiteurs ont été estimés d’après la tendance historique. Par souci de prudence, le même montant a été reporté dans la colonne des prévisions pour 2010-2011.

7 - Immobilisations corporelles

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada n’envisage pas d’acquérir des immobilisations ayant une valeur de plus de 10 000 $ durant la période visée par les prévisions.

Par conséquent, dans les années à venir, seules les immobilisations existantes continueront de se déprécier au rythme de 11 039 $ par année.

8 - Créditeurs

Les créditeurs de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada consistent essentiellement en des salaires à payer, en des sommes à verser à d’autres ministères et en d’autres charges de fin d’exercice à payer. Pour 2009 2010, les créditeurs ont été estimés d’après la tendance historique. Par souci de prudence, le même montant a été reporté dans la colonne des prévisions pour 2010-2011.

9 - Avantages sociaux

  1. Prestations de retraite

    Les employés de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada participent au Régime de retraite de la fonction publique, qui est parrainé et administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Les prestations de retraite s’accumulent sur une période maximale de 35 ans au taux de 2 % par année de services validables multiplié par la moyenne des gains des cinq meilleures années consécutives. Les prestations sont intégrées aux prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada et du Régime de rentes du Québec et sont indexées à l’inflation.

    Les employés aussi bien que la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada versent des cotisations couvrant le coût du régime. Pour l’exercice 2010-2011, les dépenses prévues s’élèvent à 232 682 $ (le montant prévu pour 2009-2010 était de 229 315 $.).

    La responsabilité de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada relative au régime de retraite se limite aux cotisations versées. Les excédents ou les déficits actuariels sont constatés dans les états financiers du gouvernement du Canada, en sa qualité de répondant du régime.

  2. Indemnités de départ

    Le Secrétariat verse des indemnités de départ aux employés en fonction de l’admissibilité, des années de service et du salaire final. Ces indemnités ne sont pas capitalisées d’avance. Les prestations seront prélevées sur les crédits futurs. Voici quelles étaient les indemnités de départ au 31 mars :

    (en milliers de dollars) Prévisions
    2010-2011
    Résultats estimés
    2009-2010
    Obligations au titre des prestations constituées, début de l'exercice 283 248
    Charges pour l'exercice 40 102
    Prestations versées durant l'exercice - (68)
    Obligations au titre des prestations constituées, fin de l'exercice 323 282

10 - Obligations contractuelles

De par leur nature, les activités de la Commission du droit d’auteur peuvent donner lieu à d’importants contrats et obligations en vertu desquels la Commission sera tenue d’effectuer des paiements échelonnés sur plusieurs années pour l’acquisition de biens ou de services. La Commission n’a pas d’obligations contractuelles d’envergure à honorer.

11 - Opérations entre apparentés

En vertu du principe de propriété commune, la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada est apparentée à tous les ministères, organismes et sociétés d’État du gouvernement du Canada. La Commission conclut des opérations avec ces entités dans le cours normal de ses activités et selon des modalités commerciales normales.

Au cours de l’exercice, la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada prévoit recevoir gratuitement des services d’autres ministères (installations et cotisations de l’employeur au régime de soins de santé et au régime de soins dentaires). Ces services gratuits ont été constatés comme suit dans l’état des résultats prospectif de la Commission :

(en milliers de dollars) Prévisions
2010-2011
Résultats estimés
2009-2010
Installations 229 224
Cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes d'assurance 111 108
Total 340 332

Le gouvernement a structuré certaines de ses activités administratives de manière à optimiser l’efficience et l’efficacité par rapport au coût afin qu’un seul ministère mène sans frais certaines activités au nom de tous. Le coût de ces services, qui comprennent les services de paye et d’émission de chèques offerts par Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, n’est pas inclus à titre de charge dans l’état des résultats prospectif de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada.