Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended June 30, 2011

Inroduction

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Board is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. The mandate of the Board is set out in the Copyright Act (the "Act"). The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Copyright Board of Canada?s (the "Board") program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Copyright Board of Canada?s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year to Date Results

Overall, there is no significant variance in expenditures between the years due to the stability of its workforce and workload. There is a slight decrease of around $52,000 in the department?s quarterly and year-to-date total net budgetary expenditures with that of the previous year. The expenditures in personnel decreased by approximately $65,000. This can be explained by the fact that two positions are now vacant and the position of one member is now on a part-time basis. The expenditures in the Information category increased by $31,000, due to higher costs for publications.

In its 2010 budget, the government announced two significant actions to reduce the growth in operating expenditures.

  • Any wage and salary increases set in the Expenditure Restraint Act (ERA) and in collective agreements applying from the beginning of 2010-11 until the end of 2012-13 are to be absorbed by organizations;
  • Operating budgets will be frozen at 2010-11 levels for the following two fiscal years (2011-12 and 2012-13).

There is a slight increase of $15 000 in authorities available for use which is due to an increase in planned expenditures for Personnel resulting from compensation received for some collective agreements that were signed before the wage and salary freeze became effective.

The travel, conference and hospitality expenses remain essentially the same, due to the cost containment measures implemented in 2010. In 2009-10, there was a freeze at 2008-09 levels on travel, conferences and hospitality budgets and that continued until the end of 2010-11.

Given that the department?s most significant expense is salaries, the Board?s spending is generally distributed equally throughout the year.

Risks and Uncertainties

The Board is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament.

Budget 2010 announced that departments would not be funded for the 2010-11 to 2012-13 wage and salary increases resulting from collective agreements. As departments must pay the salary increases to employees, organizations are expected to find efficiencies within their operating vote to fund these increases.

The Board has estimated the impact of this government-wide initiative to be approximately $14,000 in 2011-12. The Board can accommodate the reduction in funding in 2011-12 without significantly impacting its operations. Management is reviewing various options to address the increasing reductions in funding for fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13.

The Board?s most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 65% of its planned expenditures. Over the last few fiscal years, its work force has been stable with few departures. An ongoing challenge for the Board is to maintain staffing at a level sufficient to compensate for departures. Given the department?s small size, the departure or hiring of a handful of employees in one quarter can have a significant impact on the quarter?s expenditures.

In addition, the Board?s expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Deputy Head Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
Chief Financial Officer Gilles McDougall Ottawa, Canada

Table 1: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2011-2012
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending Marc 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,815 457 457
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 310 77 77
Total authorities 3,125 534 534
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2010-2011
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending Marc 31, 2011* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,817 514 513
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 293 73 73
Total authorities 3,110  586 586
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 2: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2011-2012
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,030 400 400
Transportation and communications 190 10 10
Information 115 42 42
Professional and special services 610 44 44
Rentals 70 35 35
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 3 3
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 - -
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,125 534 534
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2010-2011
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2011* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2010 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,015 465 465
Transportation and communications 190 17 17
Information 115 11 11
Professional and special services 610 52 52
Rentals 70 34 34
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 4 4
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 2 2
Other subsidies and payments - 1 1
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,110  586 586
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada - Rapport financier trimestriel
Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
Pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Inroduction

Le présent rapport financier a été préparé par la direction tel que l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

La Commission est une agence administrative indépendante qui s'est vu conférer le statut de ministère pour les besoins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Le mandat de la Commission est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur (la « Loi »). Elle a le pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur lorsque la gestion de telles œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada a pour objectif d'établir des tarifs justes et équitables tant pour les titulaires de droits d'auteur que pour les utilisateurs d'œuvres protégées. Cela signifie également imposer des conditions justes et équitables afin de permettre l'utilisation d'œuvres dont le titulaire du droit d'auteur est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser de la Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par la Commission, de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011-2012. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Dans le cadre du processus d'établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels, conformément aux conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, qui sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore présentés en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

D'une manière générale, il n'y a pas eu de variation significative des dépenses d'un exercice à l'autre, en raison de la stabilité de l'effectif et de la charge de travail de la Commission. On note une légère diminution d'environ 52 000 $ des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales trimestrielles et cumulatives par rapport à l'exercice précédent. Les frais de personnel ont diminué d'environ 65 000 $ du fait que deux postes sont présentement à pourvoir et que le poste d'un commissaire est maintenant à temps partiel. Les dépenses associées au poste de l'information ont augmenté d'environ 31 000 $ dans la foulée de la hausse du coût des publications.

Dans son budget de 2010, le gouvernement a annoncé deux importantes mesures visant à freiner la progression des dépenses de fonctionnement.

  • les augmentations de salaire prévues aux termes de la Loi sur le contrôle des dépenses (LCD) et des conventions collectives pour la période allant du début de l'exercice 2010 2011 à la fin de l'exercice 2012 2013 seront financées par les organismes;
  • les budgets de fonctionnement des deux exercices subséquents (2011 2012 et 2012 2013) seront bloqués aux niveaux de 2010 2011.

Les autorisations disponibles ont augmenté légèrement, de 15 000 $, reflétant une augmentation des dépenses en personnel liées aux compensations reçues pour les conventions collectives qui ont été signées avant l'entrée en vigueur du gel des compensations de dépenses salariales.

Les dépenses de voyage, de conférence et d'accueil sont à peu près inchangées, en raison des mesures de limitation des coûts adoptées en 2010. En 2009 2010, les budgets de voyage, de conférence et d'accueil ont été bloqués aux niveaux de 2008 2009, et cette mesure a été maintenue jusqu'à la fin de 2010 2011.

Étant donné que les salaires constituent la principale charge de la Commission, les dépenses de la Commission sont généralement réparties uniformément au cours de l'exercice.

Risques et incertitudes

La Commission est financée au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, les changements que vote le Parlement relativement au financement ont une incidence sur son fonctionnement.

Le budget de 2010 établissait que les ministères ne recevraient pas de financement pour les augmentations de salaire prévues aux conventions collectives pour les exercices de 2010 2011 à 2012 2013. Or les ministères doivent verser ces augmentations de salaire à leurs employés, et doivent donc y arriver en réalisant des gains d'efficience dans l'utilisation de leurs crédits de fonctionnement.

La Commission estime que cette mesure touchant l'ensemble de l'administration fédérale aura pour elle une incidence d'environ 14 000 $ en 2011 2012. La Commission peut composer avec la réduction de financement en 2011 2012 sans que cela ait d'incidence majeure sur son fonctionnement. La direction examine différentes solutions pour faire face aux réductions de financement plus importantes prévues pour les exercices 2011 2012 et 2012 2013.

Les dépenses de personnel constituent la principale charge de la Commission, soit 65 % des dépenses prévues. Au cours des derniers exercices, l'effectif de la Commission est demeuré stable, et les départs ont été peu nombreux. La Commission a pour souci constant de maintenir son effectif à un niveau lui permettant de compenser les départs. En raison de la petite taille de la Commission, l'embauche ou le départ d'un petit nombre d'employés au cours d'un trimestre peut avoir une incidence marquée sur les dépenses de ce trimestre.

Par ailleurs, le nombre et la complexité de tarifs que la Commission doit homologuer ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d'audiences risque d'exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'est survenu durant l'exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall Ottawa, Canada

Tableau 1 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 815 457 457
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 310 77 77
Autorisations totales 3 125 534 534
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2010-2011
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 21 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 817 514 513
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 293 73 73
Autorisations totales 3 110  586 586
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 2 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2011-2012
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 030 400 400
Transport et communications 190 10 10
Information 115 42 42
Services professionnels et spéciaux 610 44 44
Location 70 35 35
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 3 3
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 - -
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 125 534 534
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2010-2011
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 015 465 465
Transport et communications 190 17 17
Information 115 11 11
Services professionnels et spéciaux 610 52 52
Location 70 34 34
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 4 4
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 2 2
Autres subventions et paiements - 1 1
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 110  586 586
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.