Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended June 30, 2012

Inroduction:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Copyright Board of Canada (the "Board") is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the Financial Administration Act. The mandate of the Board is set out in the Copyright Act (the "Act"). The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Board's program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Copyright Board of Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2012-13 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter Results:

Overall, there is no significant variance in expenditures between the years due to the stability of its workforce and workload. There is a slight increase of around $94,000 in the department's quarterly spending with that of the previous year. The expenditures in Personnel increased by approximately $39,000 and this can be explained by the staffing of a couple of vacant positions. The expenditures in Information increased by $27,000 and this is due to higher costs for publications. There is also an increase of approximately $23,000 in Professional and Special Services that can be explained mainly by increased translation expenses.

Given that the department's most significant expense is salaries, the Board's spending is generally distributed equally throughout the year.

Risks and Uncertainties:

The Board is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament.

Budget 2010 announced that departments would not be funded for the 2010-11 to 2012-13 wage and salary increases resulting from collective agreements. As departments must pay the salary increases to employees, organizations are expected to find efficiencies within their operating vote to fund these increases.

The Board has estimated the impact of this government-wide initiative to be approximately $14,000 in 2012-13. The Board can accommodate the reduction in funding in 2012-13 without significantly impacting its operations.

With respect to Budget 2012 implementation, there are no new or renewed initiatives and savings measures announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 that will have a significant influence on the Copyright Board's authorities and expenditures.

The Board's most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 65% of its planned expenditures. Over the past few fiscal years, the Board's staff has been stable at 13 employees. However, of the 13 employees in 2008-2009, only 6 remain in the positions they then occupied. The median tenure of the Board's staff is about 3 years. This implies that whenever an employee departs due to retirement or resignation or a new employee is hired to replace the departing one, there is a risk of substantial variation in quarterly expenditures.

In addition, the Board's expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs:

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Deputy Head Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
Chief Financial Officer Gilles McDougall Ottawa, Canada

Table 1: Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2012-2013
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,815 552 552
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 303 76 76
Total authorities 3,118 628 628
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2011-2012
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,815 457 457
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 310 77 77
Total authorities 3,125 534 534
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 2: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2012-2013
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,023 439 439
Transportation and communications 225 6 6
Information 115 69 69
Professional and special services 570 67 67
Rentals 75 35 35
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 12 12
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 - -
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,118 628 628
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2010-2011
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2012* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2011 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,030 400 400
Transportation and communications 190 10 10
Information 115 42 42
Professional and special services 610 44 44
Rentals 70 35 35
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 3 3
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 - 0
Other subsidies and payments - - 0
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,125 534 534
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada - Rapport financier trimestriel
Exposé sur les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012

Inroduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel que l'exige l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada est un organisme administratif indépendant qui s'est vu conférer le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur (la « Loi »). Elle a le pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur lorsque la gestion de ces œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada a pour objectif d'établir des tarifs justes et équitables tant pour les titulaires de droits d'auteur que pour les utilisateurs d'ouvres protégées. Cela signifie également imposer des conditions d'utilisation justes et équitables lorsque le titulaire des droits est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode comptable axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement à la Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada et celles utilisées par la Commission conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2012-2013. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière sur l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Certaines autorisations sont accordées sous la forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu de lois de crédits et d'autres prennent la forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées aux termes d'autres dispositions législatives.

Dans le cadre du processus d'établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission recourt à la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer ses états financiers annuels en application des conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont toujours consignés selon la méthode axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

D'une manière générale, il n'y a pas eu de variation significative des dépenses d'un exercice à l'autre en raison de la stabilité de l'effectif et de la charge de travail de la Commission. On note une légère augmentation d'environ 94 000 $ des dépenses trimestrielles par rapport à l'exercice précédent. Les dépenses en personnel ont augmenté d'environ 39 000 $ du fait que deux postes ont été pourvus. Les dépenses liées à l'information ont augmenté d'environ 27 000 $ dans la foulée de la hausse du coût des publications. Le poste des services professionnels et spéciaux affiche également une augmentation d'environ 23 000 $, laquelle, s'explique surtout par une augmentation des dépenses de traduction.

Étant donné que les salaires constituent la principale charge de la Commission, les dépenses de la Commission sont généralement réparties uniformément au cours de l'exercice.

Risques et incertitudes

La Commission est financée au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, les changements que vote le Parlement relativement au financement ont une incidence sur son fonctionnement.

Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que les ministères ne recevraient pas de financement au titre des augmentations de salaire prévues aux conventions collectives pour les exercices de 2010 2011 à 2012 2013. Or, les ministères doivent verser ces augmentations de salaire à leurs employés, et ils doivent y arriver en réalisant des gains d'efficience dans l'utilisation de leurs crédits de fonctionnement.

La Commission estime que cette mesure touchant l'ensemble de l'administration fédérale aura pour elle une incidence d'environ 14 000 $ en 2012 2013. La Commission peut composer avec la réduction du financement en 2012 2013 sans que cela ait d'incidence majeure sur son fonctionnement.

Quant à la mise en ouvre du budget de 2012, aucune des initiatives nouvelles ou renouvelées ni mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada de 2012 n'auront une incidence considérable sur les autorisations et les dépenses de la Commission.

Les dépenses en personnel constituent la principale charge de la Commission et représentent 65 % des dépenses prévues. Au cours des derniers exercices, l'effectif de la Commission est demeuré stable à 13 employés. Cependant, seuls 6 des 13 employés occupent toujours le même poste qu'en 2008 2009. La durée d'emploi médiane du personnel de la Commission est d'environ 3 ans. Ainsi, lorsqu'un employé prend sa retraite ou démissionne ou qu'un nouvel employé est embauché pour remplacer celui qui part, les écarts dans les dépenses trimestrielles peuvent être considérables.

Par ailleurs, le nombre de tarifs qu'elle doit fixer et la complexité de ces tarifs ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d'audiences risque d'exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'est survenu durant l'exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau Ottawa, Canada
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall Ottawa, Canada

Tableau 1 : État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 815 552 552
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 303 76 76
Autorisations totales 3 118 628 628
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2011-2012
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 815 457 457
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 310 77 77
Autorisations totales 3 125 534 534
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 2 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 023 439 439
Transport et communications 225 6 6
Information 115 69 69
Services professionnels et spéciaux 570 67 67
Locaux 75 35 35
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 12 12
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 - -
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 118 628 628
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2011-2012
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 030 400 400
Transport et communications 190 10 10
Information 115 42 42
Services professionnels et spéciaux 610 44 44
Location 70 35 35
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 3 3
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 - 0
Autres subventions et paiements - - 0
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 125 534 534
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.