Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended September 30, 2013

Introduction:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and the previous quarterly financial report for the current year.

The Copyright Board of Canada (the "Board") is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the FAA. The mandate of the Board is set out in the Copyright Act (the "Act"). The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Board's program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Copyright Board of Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2013-14 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with Treasury Board accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter Results:

Total authorities used during the second quarter ended September 30, 2013 increased by approximately $148,000 compared to the same quarter of 2012-13. Year-to-date authorities used also increased compared to last year, by approximately $233,000. This increase is due to the higher net operating expenditures.

The increases in operating expenditures were the result of several factors. Total net budgetary expenditures in Personnel during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 increased by approximately $58,000 compared to last year, and by $147,000 on a year-to-date basis. This increase is due to the recent staffing of vacant positions.

Expenditures in the Information standard object increased by $51,000 in the second quarter (and by $54,000 on a year-to-date basis) due to higher costs for publications. Expenditures on professional and special services increased, by $34,000 in the second quarter ($18,000 year-to-date) due to changing operational demands. Expenditures on rentals increased by $12,000 in the second quarter ($10,000 year-to-date), due to variation in invoicing timing. Expenditures in Transportation and Communications decreased by $12,000 in the second quarter but remained the same on a year-to-date basis, reflecting only a different quarterly timing in travel needs.

Given that the department's most significant expense is salaries, the Board's spending is generally distributed equally throughout the year.

In addition, the Board's expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Risks and Uncertainties:

With respect to Budget 2012 implementation, there are no new or renewed initiatives and savings measures announced in Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012 that will have a significant influence on the Copyright Board's authorities and expenditures.

The Board's most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 65% of its planned expenditures. The median tenure of the Board's staff is about three years. This implies that whenever an employee departs due to retirement or resignation or a new employee is hired to replace the departing one, there is a risk of substantial variation in quarterly expenditures.

In addition, the Board's expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs:

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Claude Majeau Deputy Head
Gilles McDougall Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2013-2014
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,825 577 1,214
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 303 75 151
Total authorities 3,128 653 1,365
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2012-2013
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,956 429 982
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 303 76 151
Total authorities 3,259 505 1,133
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2013-2014
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,033 470 998
Transportation and communications 225 20 41
Information 115 70 142
Professional and special services 570 70 121
Rentals 75 13 45
Repair and maintenance 10 0 0
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 7 11
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 2 7
Other subsidies and payments - - 0
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,128 653 1,365
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2012-2013
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2012 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,023 412 851
Transportation and communications 266 32 39
Information 215 19 88
Professional and special services 570 36 102
Rentals 75 1 36
Repair and maintenance 10 1 1
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 4 15
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 - 1
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,259 505 1,133
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada - Rapport financier trimestriel
Exposé sur les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel qu'exigé par l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le rapport trimestriel précédent l'exercice en cours.

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada (la « Commission ») est un tribunal quasi judiciaire et fut conférée le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur (la « Loi »). Elle a le pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire ou à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur lorsque la gestion de ces œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission a pour objectif d'établir des tarifs justes et équitables pour les titulaires de droits d'auteur et les utilisateurs d'œuvres protégées. Cela signifie également établir des conditions d'utilisation justes et équitables lorsque le titulaire des droits est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode comptable axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenses accordées par le Parlement à la Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada, et celles utilisées par la Commission conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2013-2014. Ce rapport trimestriel fut préparé au moyen d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière sur l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Certaines autorisations sont accordées sous la forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu de lois de crédits et d'autres prennent la forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées aux termes de dispositions législatives spécifiques

Dans le cadre du processus d'établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission a recourt à la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer ses états financiers annuels en appliquant les conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont toujours consignés selon la méthode axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels

Le total des crédits utilisés durant le trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre 2013 a augmenté approximativement de 148 000 $ en comparaison au même trimestre de 2012-2013. Le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre de septembre 2013 a aussi augmenté comparé à l'an dernier, d'un montant de 233 000 $. Cette augmentation est due aux dépenses nettes de fonctionnement accrues.

L'augmentation des dépenses de fonctionnement fut le résultat de plusieurs facteurs. Les dépenses pour le personnel lors de l'exercice finissant le 30 septembre 2013 ont augmenté d'approximativement 58 000 $ en comparaison à l'an dernier, et de 147 000 $ sur une base cumulée. Cela s'explique par le pourvoi récent à des postes vacants.

Les dépenses liées à l'information ont augmenté de 51 000 $ lors du deuxième trimestre (et de 54 000 $ au cumul pour l'année), à cause du coût accru des publications. Les dépenses pour les services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 34 000 $ lors du second trimestre (et de 18 000 $ au cumul), reflétant des exigences opérationnelles changeantes. Les dépenses pour la location des locaux ont augmenté de 12 000 $ au cours du second trimestre (de 10 000 $ au cumul), reflétant une séquence différente de facturation. Les dépenses de transport et de communications affichent une diminution d'environ 12 000 $ lors du deuxième trimestre, mais demeurent les mêmes pour le cumulatif, reflétant seulement une variation dans le temps des besoins de voyages.

Étant donné que les salaires représentent sa dépense principale, la Commission répartie généralement ses dépenses uniformément au cours de l'exercice financier.

De plus, les dépenses de la Commission sont influencées par la quantité et complexité des tarifs qu'elle doit établir. Une hausse marquée du nombre d'audiences peut exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Risques et incertitudes

Quant à la mise en œuvre du budget de 2012, aucune des initiatives nouvelles ou renouvelées ni mesures d'économie annoncées dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada de 2012 n'auront une incidence considérable sur les autorisations et les dépenses de la Commission.

Les dépenses en personnel sont la principale charge de la Commission et représentent 65 % des dépenses prévues. La durée d'emploi médiane du personnel de la Commission est d'environ trois ans. Ainsi, lorsqu'un employé prend sa retraite ou démissionne, ou qu'un nouvel employé est embauché pour remplacer celui qui part, les écarts dans les dépenses trimestrielles peuvent être considérables.

Par ailleurs, le nombre de tarifs qu'elle doit établir, et la complexité de ceux-ci ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d'audiences risque d'exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'est survenu durant l'exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 825 577 1 214
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 303 75 151
Autorisations totales 3 128 653 1 365
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2012-2013
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 956 429 982
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 303 76 151
Autorisations totales 3 259 505 1 133
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 1 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2013-2014
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 033 470 998
Transport et communications 225 20 41
Information 115 70 142
Services professionnels et spéciaux 570 70 121
Locaux 75 13 45
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 0 0
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 7 11
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 2 7
Autres subventions et paiements - - 0
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 128 653 1 365
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2012-2013
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 023 412 851
Transport et communications 266 32 39
Information 215 19 88
Services professionnels et spéciaux 570 36 102
Locaux 75 1 36
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 1 1
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 4 15
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 - 1
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 259 505 1 133
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.