Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended December 31, 2014

Introduction:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Copyright Board of Canada (the "Board") is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the FAA. Its mandate is set out in the Copyright Act. The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Board’s program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Copyright Board of Canada’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Board, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2014-15 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with TB accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter Results:

Total authorities used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 decreased by $50,000 compared to the same quarter of last year. This is a reflection of a corresponding decrease in net operating expenditures. Year-to-date authorities used however increased by $14,000 compared to last year.

The decrease in net operating expenditures for the quarter ended on December 31, 2014 is essentially the result of lower transportation and communications expenses, because of changing operational needs. Information expenses also decreased, by $22,000, since the Board’s tariffs are now being published only electronically. The arrival of new staff led to an increase of $41,000 in personnel expenditures and a decrease of $38,000 in professional services expenditures.

On a year-to-date basis, operating expenditures increased by $14,000. Personnel expenditures increased while transportation and communications, information and professional services expenditures decreased. Other subsidies and payments expenditures however increased by $52,000, reflecting the implementation of payment in arrears, as reported in the first quarterly report.

Risks and Uncertainties:

The Board is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament.

With respect to Budget 2012 implementation, there are no new or renewed initiatives and savings measures announced in Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 that will have a significant influence on the Copyright Board’s authorities and expenditures.

The Board’s most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 62% of its planned expenditures. The median tenure of the Board’s staff is about three years. This implies that whenever an employee departs due to retirement or resignation or a new employee is hired to replace the departing one, there is a risk of substantial variation in quarterly expenditures.

In addition, the Board’s expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs:

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Claude Majeau Deputy Head
Gilles McDougall Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2014-2015
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,971 620 1,907
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 286 72 215
Total authorities 3,257 692 2,121
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2013-2014
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,825 667 1,881
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 303 75 226
Total authorities 3,128 742 2,107
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2014-2015
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,022 454 1,450
Transportation and communications 225 16 62
Information 157 18 113
Professional and special services 584 177 330
Rentals 117 14 60
Repair and maintenance 10 1 7
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 10 24
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 77 2 25
Other subsidies and payments 0 52
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,257 692 2,121
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2013-2014
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014* Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,033 413 1,411
Transportation and communications 225 58 99
Information 115 40 182
Professional and special services 570 215 335
Rentals 75 11 57
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 2 13
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 3 10
Other subsidies and payments - -
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,128 742 2,107
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
Exposé sur les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel que l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada (la « Commission ») est un organisme administratif indépendant qui s’est vu conférer le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d’auteur. Elle a le pouvoir d’établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d’un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur lorsque la gestion de ces œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission a pour objectif d’établir des tarifs justes et équitables tant pour les titulaires de droits d’auteur que pour les utilisateurs d’œuvres protégées. Cela signifie également imposer des conditions d’utilisation justes et équitables lorsque le titulaire des droits est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode comptable axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement à la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada et celles utilisées par la Commission conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice 2014-2015. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière sur l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Certaines autorisations sont accordées sous la forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu de lois de crédits et d’autres prennent la forme d’autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées aux termes d’autres dispositions législatives.

Dans le cadre du processus d’établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission recourt à la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour préparer ses états financiers annuels en application des conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont toujours consignés selon la méthode axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels

Le total des crédits utilisés durant le trimestre se terminant le 31 décembre 2014 a diminué de 50 000 $ par rapport au même trimestre l’an dernier. Cela est le reflet d’une baisse correspondante des dépenses nettes de fonctionnement. Par contre, le cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre de décembre 2014 a augmenté de 14 000 $ par rapport à l’an dernier.

La baisse des dépenses nettes de fonctionnement au trimestre finissant le 31 décembre 2014 reflète essentiellement une baisse des dépenses en transports et communications de 42 000 $, à cause de besoins opérationnels changeants. Les dépenses en information ont également diminué, de 22 000 $, les tarifs de la Commission n’étant maintenant publiés qu’en version électronique. Suite à l’arrivée de nouveau personnel, les dépenses en personnel se sont accrues de 41 000 $ et les dépenses en services professionnels ont diminué de 38 000 $.

Sur une base cumulée, les dépenses de fonctionnement se sont accrues de 14 000 $. Les dépenses en personnel ont augmenté alors que les dépenses en transports et communications, en information et en services professionnels ont diminué. Toutefois, les dépenses pour autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 52 000 $, reflétant la mise en œuvre du régime de paye en arrérages, tel qu’indiqué dans le rapport du premier trimestre.

Risques et incertitudes

La Commission est financée au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, les changements que vote le Parlement relativement au financement ont une incidence sur son fonctionnement.

Quant à la mise en œuvre du budget de 2012, aucune des initiatives nouvelles ou renouvelées ni mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Plan d’action économique du Canada de 2012 n’auront une incidence considérable sur les autorisations et les dépenses de la Commission.

Les dépenses en personnel constituent la principale charge de la Commission et représentent 62 % des dépenses prévues. La durée d’emploi médiane du personnel de la Commission est d’environ trois ans. Ainsi, lorsqu’un employé prend sa retraite ou démissionne ou qu’un nouvel employé est embauché pour remplacer celui qui part, les écarts dans les dépenses trimestrielles peuvent être considérables.

Par ailleurs, le nombre de tarifs qu’elle doit fixer et la complexité de ses tarifs ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d’audiences risque d’exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n’est survenu durant l’exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 971 620 1 907
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 286 72 215
Autorisations totales 3 257 692 2 121
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2013-2014
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 825 667 1 881
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 303 75 226
Autorisations totales 3 128 742 2 107
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 1 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 022 454 1 450
Transport et communications 225 16 62
Information 157 18 113
Services professionnels et spéciaux 584 177 330
Locaux 117 14 60
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 1 7
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 10 24
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 77 7 25
Autres subventions et paiements 0 52
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 257 692 2 121
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2013-2014
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 033 413 1 411
Transport et communications 225 58 99
Information 115 40 182
Services professionnels et spéciaux 570 215 335
Locaux 75 11 57
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 2 13
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 3 10
Autres subventions et paiements - -
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 128 742 2 107
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.