Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended June 30, 2015

Introduction:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Copyright Board of Canada (the “Board”) is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the FAA. Its mandate is set out in the Copyright Act (the “Act”). The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Board’s program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Copyright Board of Canada’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Board, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2015-16 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the departmental performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with TB accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter Results:

The total authorities used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 decreased by $162,000 when comparing to the same quarter last year. This decrease in total authorities reflects a corresponding decrease in net operating expenditures.

The decrease in net operating expenditures for the quarter ending June 30, 2015 is a result of several factors. First, as a result of the departure of employees, the expenditures in Personnel decreased by $51,000. Other subsidies and payments expenditures also decreased, by $49,000, reflecting the implementation of payment in arrears that occurred last fiscal year only. Expenditures on transportation and communications decreased by $23,000 and those on machinery and equipment, by $11,000.

Risks and Uncertainties:

The Board is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament.

The Board’s most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 65% of its planned expenditures. The median tenure of the Board’s staff is about three years. This implies that whenever an employee departs due to retirement or resignation or a new employee is hired to replace the departing one, there is a risk of substantial variation in quarterly expenditures.

In addition, the Board’s expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs:

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Claude Majeau Deputy Head
Gilles McDougall Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2015-2016
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,961 571 571
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 292 73 73
Total authorities 3,252 643 643
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2014-2015
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,831 734 734
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 286 72 72
Total authorities 3,117 805 805
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2015-2016
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2015 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,029 465 465
Transportation and communications 267 8 8
Information 129 62 62
Professional and special services 599 76 76
Rentals 75 21 21
Repair and maintenance 10 - -
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 7 7
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 77 4 4
Other subsidies and payments 0 0
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,252 643 643
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2014-2015
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,022 516 516
Transportation and communications 225 31 31
Information 115 67 67
Professional and special services 570 83 83
Rentals 75 33 33
Repair and maintenance 10 4 4
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 6 6
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 35 15 15
Other subsidies and payments 49 49
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,117 805 805
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
Exposé sur les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel que l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

La Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada (la « Commission ») est un organisme administratif indépendant qui s’est vu conférer le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d’auteur. Elle a le pouvoir d’établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d’un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur lorsque la gestion de ces œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission a pour objectif d’établir des tarifs justes et équitables tant pour les titulaires de droits d’auteur que pour les utilisateurs d’œuvres protégées. Cela signifie également imposer des conditions d’utilisation justes et équitables lorsque le titulaire des droits est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode comptable axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement à la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada et celles utilisées par la Commission conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice 2015-2016. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière sur l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Certaines autorisations sont accordées sous la forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu de lois de crédits et d’autres prennent la forme d’autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées aux termes d’autres dispositions législatives.

Dans le cadre du processus d’établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission recourt à la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour préparer ses états financiers annuels en application des conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont toujours consignés selon la méthode axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels

Le total des crédits utilisés durant le trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2015 a diminué de 162 000 $ en comparaison au même trimestre de l’année dernière. Cette baisse du total des crédits reflète une baisse correspondante des dépenses nettes de fonctionnement.

La diminution des dépenses nettes de fonctionnement au trimestre finissant le 30 juin 2015 est le résultat de plusieurs facteurs. Premièrement, en raison du départ de certains membres du personnel, les dépenses en personnel ont diminué de 51 000 $. Les dépenses pour autres subventions et paiements ont également diminué, de 49 000 $, le régime de paye en arrérages ayant été mis en œuvre durant l’année financière dernière seulement. Les dépenses en transports et communications ont diminué de 23 000 $ et celles en matériel et d’outillage de 11 000 $.

Risques et incertitudes

La Commission est financée au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, les changements que vote le Parlement relativement au financement ont une incidence sur son fonctionnement.

Les dépenses en personnel constituent la principale charge de la Commission et représentent 65 % des dépenses prévues. La durée d’emploi médiane du personnel de la Commission est d’environ trois ans. Ainsi, lorsqu’un employé prend sa retraite ou démissionne ou qu’un nouvel employé est embauché pour remplacer celui qui part, les écarts dans les dépenses trimestrielles peuvent être considérables.

Par ailleurs, le nombre de tarifs qu’elle doit fixer et la complexité de ses tarifs ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d’audiences risque d’exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n’est survenu durant l’exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 961 571 571
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 292 73 73
Autorisations totales 3 252 643 643
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2014-2015
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 831 734 734
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 286 72 72
Autorisations totales 3 117 805 805
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 1 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 029 465 1465
Transport et communications 267 8 8
Information 129 62 62
Services professionnels et spéciaux 599 76 76
Locaux 75 21 21
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 - -
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 7 7
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 77 4 4
Autres subventions et paiements 0 0
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 252 643 643
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2014-2015
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 022 516 516
Transport et communications 225 31 31
Information 115 67 67
Services professionnels et spéciaux 570 83 83
Locaux 75 33 33
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 4 4
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 6 6
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 35 15 15
Autres subventions et paiements 49 49
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 117 805 805
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.