Copyright Board Canada
Canada

Copyright Board of Canada
Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program
For the Quarter Ended September 30, 2017

Introduction:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board (TB). This quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates.

The Copyright Board of Canada (the “Board”) is an independent administrative agency that has been conferred department status for purposes of the FAA. Its mandate is set out in the Copyright Act (the “Act”). The Board is empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works when the administration of such works is entrusted to a collective administrative society.

The Board’s program objective is to set royalties which are fair and equitable to both copyright owners and users of copyright-protected works. This includes setting fair and equitable terms and conditions so as to permit the use of works when the owner of the copyright cannot be located.

Basis of Presentation:

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the Board?s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Board, consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2017-18 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

As part of the performance reporting process, the Board prepares its annual departmental financial statements on a full accrual basis in accordance with TBS accounting policies, which are based on Canadian generally accepted accounting principles for the public sector. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Highlights of Fiscal Quarter Results:

The total authorities used during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 were $822,000, an increase of $39,000 when comparing to the same quarter last year. This increase mostly reflects a corresponding increase in net operating expenditures.

The increase in net operating expenditures for the quarter ending September 30, 2017 is a result of several factors. First, as a result of hiring an employee, expenditures on personnel increased by $97,000. In addition, expenditures on other subsidies and payments increased by $57,000, due to higher operational needs. However, expenditures on professional and special services decreased by $47,000 while expenditures on rentais decreased by $37,000. Expenditures on utilities, materials and supplies as well as on acquisition of machinery and equipment also decreased.

Risks and Uncertainties:

The Board is funded through annual appropriations. As a result, its operations are impacted by any changes in funding approved through Parliament.

The Board’s most significant expenditure is personnel which represents 60% of its planned expenditures. This implies that whenever an employee departs due to retirement or resignation or a new employee is hired to replace the departing one, there is a risk of substantial variation in quarterly expenditures.

In addition, the Board’s expenditures are influenced by the number and complexity of tariffs that it has to establish. A significant increase in the number of hearings can result in resource pressures.

Significant Changes in Relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs:

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs this fiscal year.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by,

Claude Majeau Deputy Head
Gilles McDougall Chief Financial Officer

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2017-18
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,926 754 1,512
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 272 68 136
Total authorities 3,198 822 1,648
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2016-17
(in thousand of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2017* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 - Net Operating expenditures 2,814 709 1,298
Budgetary statutory authorities
Employee benefit plans 298 74 149
Total authorities 3,112 783 1,447
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
 

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal Year 2017-18
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,008 584 1,070
Transportation and communications 40 13 27
Information 182 5 154
Professional and special services 768 145 290
Rentals 85 1 20
Repair and maintenance 38 5 7
Utilities, materials and supplies 50 7 13
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 30 1 2
Other subsidies and payments - 61 65
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,198 822 1,648
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.
   
Fiscal Year 2016-17
(in thousand of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2017* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2016 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 2,031 487 934
Transportation and communications 150 10 17
Information 120 5 88
Professional and special services 525 192 290
Rentals 86 0 50
Repair and maintenance 10 9 9
Utilities, materials and supplies 65 26 36
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 125 12 12
Other subsidies and payments - 4 11
Total net budgetary expenditures 3,112 783 1,447
* Includes approved estimates documents as at quarter end.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
Exposé sur les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes
pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017

Introduction

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction tel que l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses.

La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada (la Commission) est un organisme administratif indépendant qui s'est vu conférer le statut de ministère aux fins de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Son mandat est établi dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur (la « Loi »). Elle a le pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances devant être versées pour l'utilisation d'œuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur lorsque la gestion de ces œuvres est confiée à une société de gestion collective.

La Commission a pour objectif d’établir des tarifs justes et équitables tant pour les titulaires de droits d’auteur que pour les utilisateurs d'œuvres protégées. Cela signifie également imposer des conditions d'utilisation justes et équitables lorsque le titulaire des droits est introuvable.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé ce rapport trimestriel en utilisant une méthode comptable axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint au présent rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement à la Commission et celles utilisées par la Commission conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2017-2018. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé au moyen d’un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière sur l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous la forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu de lois de crédits et d'autres prennent la forme d'autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées aux termes d'autres dispositions législatives.

Dans le cadre du processus d'établissement de rapports sur le rendement, la Commission recourt à la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour préparer ses états financiers annuels en application des conventions comptables du Conseil du Trésor, lesquelles sont basées sur les principes comptables généralement reconnus du Canada pour le secteur public. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont toujours consignés selon la méthode axée sur les dépenses.

Ce rapport trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels

Le total des crédits utilisés durant le trimestre se terminant le 30 septembre 2017 s'est chiffré à 822 000 $, une augmentation de 39 000 $ en comparaison au même trimestre de l'année dernière. Cette augmentation reflète essentiellement une augmentation correspondante des dépenses nettes de fonctionnement.

L'augmentation des dépenses nettes au trimestre finissant le 30 septembre 2017 est le résultat de plusieurs facteurs. À la suite de l'embauche d'un employé, les dépenses en personnel ont augmenté de 97 000 $. De plus, les dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté de 57 000 $, suite à des besoins opérationnels plus élevés. Toutefois, les dépenses pour services professionnels et spéciaux ont diminué de 47 000 $ et les dépenses pour les locaux ont diminué de 37 000 $. Les dépenses en services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements et celles pour l'acquisition de matériel et d'outillage ont également diminué.

Risques et incertitudes

La Commission est financée au moyen de crédits annuels. Par conséquent, les changements que vote le Parlement relativement au financement ont une incidence sur son fonctionnement.

Les dépenses en personnel constituent la principale charge de la Commission et représentent 60 % des dépenses prévues. Ainsi, lorsqu'un employé prend sa retraite ou démissionne ou qu'un nouvel employé est embauché pour remplacer celui qui part, les écarts dans les dépenses trimestrielles peuvent être importantes.

Par ailleurs, le nombre de tarifs qu'elle doit fixer et la complexité de ses tarifs ont une incidence sur les dépenses de la Commission. Une hausse marquée du nombre d'audiences risque d'exercer une pression sur les ressources.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'est survenu durant l'exercice en ce qui concerne le fonctionnement, le personnel et les programmes.

Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

La version imprimée a été signée par  
Le sous-chef, Claude Majeau
Le dirigeant principal des finances, Gilles McDougall

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2017-2018
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 926 754 1 512
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 272 68 136
Autorisations totales 3 198 822 1 648
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2016-2017
(En milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 2 814 709 1 298
Autorisation législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux 298 74 149
Autorisations totales 3 112 783 1 447
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
 

Tableau 1 : Dépenses budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2017-2018
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 008 584 1 070
Transport et communications 40 13 27
Information 182 5 154
Services professionnels et spéciaux 768 145 290
Locaux 85 1 20
Services de réparation et d'entretien 38 5 7
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 50 7 13
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 30 1 2
Autres subventions et paiements - 61 65
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 198 822 1 648
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.
   
Exercice 2016-2017
(En milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 Dépenses effectuées durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2016 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 2 031 487 934
Transport et communications 150 10 17
Information 120 5 88
Services professionnels et spéciaux 525 192 290
Locaux 86 0 50
Services de réparation et d'entretien 10 9 9
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 65 26 36
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 125 12 12
Autres subventions et paiements - 4 11
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 3 112 783 1 447
* Inclut les documents budgétaires approuvés à la fin du trimestre.