Copyright Board Canada
Canada

MODEL DIRECTIVE ON PROCEDURE

This directive outlines the procedure the Board usually follows in considering a proposed tariff and objections thereto. The directive aims to ensure that the proceedings are conducted as efficiently and simply as possible, while providing the appropriate procedural safeguards.

A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
  1. Filing and Service of Documents

    Documents are filed with the Board in electronic version, either by email or on another medium (CD-ROM, DVD or USB key) for very large files. Hard copies of the documents must also be delivered to the Board, by mail or by courier, for reception on the same day, to:

    The Secretary General
    Copyright Board of Canada
    56 Sparks Street, Suite 800
    Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0C9
    Telephone: 613-952-8624

    The electronic version must allow the Board to import the text, in whole or in part, into a word processing software.

    A document filed with the Board by mail or by courier must be accompanied by a list of the names of the persons served.

    Evidence of service must be kept; this will serve to establish that service was effectively made.

    Filing or service of a document is effected on the date that the document is received by the person being served.

  2. Comments

    Anyone may comment in writing on any aspect of the proceedings. As a general rule, comments received later than the date by which participants must present or file oral or written arguments, will not be considered. In due course, the Board will forward these comments to participants.

  3. Intervenors

    The Board may allow anyone to intervene in the proceedings. The intervention is allowed insofar as the Board finds it useful, given the interest of the person requesting to intervene and the nature of the participation contemplated by that person.

    Anyone who intends to intervene must file with the Board a request to that effect. The request describes the personís interest in the proceedings and the manner in which the person intends to participate; it must specify whether the person only intends to file written comments, or also wishes to file evidence and cross-examine witnesses.

    A request to intervene should be filed as early as possible. The Board normally will deny leave to intervene if granting the request would unduly postpone the proceedings.

    The Board will advise participants of any request to intervene. A participant may object to the request.

    Intervenors have the same rights and obligations as other participants, unless the Board directs otherwise, and must comply with the rules and deadlines as set out in this directive.

    Intervenors and other participants who support the position of a collective must comply with the deadlines that apply to that collective. At the hearing, they will be asked to submit any evidence they may be allowed to put forward immediately after that collective.

  4. List of Exhibits

    The Board issues and updates periodically a list of exhibits filed. A person who has not received a document may obtain a copy from the person who filed it.

  5. Format of Documents

    Where possible, documents filed should be of the dimensions 8 1/2" x 11".

  6. Subpoenas

    The Board may, upon request or of its own motion, issue a subpoena to require a person to appear at the hearing, to testify and to produce any document the Board may consider helpful. A subpoena is issued by the Secretary General.

  7. List of Participants

    Appendix I lists the names and addresses of those who have advised the Board of their intention to participate in the proceedings.

  8. Confidential Treatment of Documents

    Any document filed with the Board is placed on the public record unless the Board orders otherwise.

    Issues of confidentiality should be discussed among participants, with a view to reaching an agreement on the way the document should be handled or the information circulated. It is only after this has been done that a request for confidential treatment should be made.

    The request is filed with the Board, with the relevant document. The request must set out the reasons therefor and indicate any way in which the information might be shared with other participants while preserving the confidential nature of the information. The request must be served on all other participants, who will comment on it by the date set for that purpose.

    When ruling on a request for confidential treatment, the Board may order that the document not be put on the public record. It may also order that an abridged or redacted version or part of the document be put on the public record. The order will address the manner and extent to which the document can be disclosed to participants or to their counsel on a confidential basis. The Board may also, of its own motion, and even where the participants have agreed on the issue, decline to treat a document as confidential.

    If a request to treat a document as confidential is denied, the disclosure will be postponed long enough to allow the person who made the request to either withdraw the document, if the Board allows it, or initiate any recourse that the person may see fit to take.

    In all documents filed with the Board, confidential information is highlighted in yellow and highly confidential information is highlighted in blue.

  9. Transcripts

    The Board arranges for a commercial service to prepare transcripts of the hearing. Copies may be obtained directly from that firm.

  10. Language of Communication

    Participants and witnesses may address the Board and communicate with each other in the official language of their choice. Upon request made to the Secretary General, 14†days before it is required, simultaneous interpretation will be provided at the hearing.

    Documents may be drafted in either official language.

  11. Flexibility

    The Board may dispense with or vary any of the provisions of this directive.


B. ORDER OF PROCEEDINGS
  1. Interrogatories

    Interrogatories are NOT filed with the Board. They are served on the participant to whom they are addressed, by the date set for that purpose, and presented in the form set out in Appendix II. Interrogatories can be addressed to any participant who is allowed to file evidence or to cross-examine witnesses.

    The Board may, at any time, direct interrogatories to a participant.

  2. Objections to Interrogatories

    A participant who receives an interrogatory and who contemplates objecting to it must first attempt to resolve the issue with the person who addressed the interrogatory.

    The person who objects to an interrogatory who contends that the information requested is not available, should offer any alternative available information that may be of assistance to the person who addressed the interrogatory.

    Any remaining misunderstanding must be submitted to the Board for decision. To allow for this, the person who addressed the interrogatory serves on the person who objected and files with the Board, by the date set for that purpose, the interrogatory, the statement of objection and a statement of the grounds in support of maintaining the interrogatory. The Board will dispose of the issue shortly thereafter.

    The fact that information is claimed to be confidential is not a reason for refusing to answer an interrogatory. Such information will be handled pursuant to the Board's order dealing with the issue.

  3. Responses to Interrogatories

    Responses must be served on the person who addressed the interrogatory, by the date set for that purpose, and presented in the form set out in Appendix III. Responses to interrogatories are NOT filed with the Board.

  4. Responses Considered Incomplete or Unsatisfactory

    The person who finds a response to one of its interrogatories unsatisfactory must send to the person who provided the answer, by the date set for that purpose, a notice of the grounds for so concluding. Any remaining misunderstanding must be submitted to the Board for determination. To allow for this, the person who provided the answer serves on the unsatisfied person and files with the Board, in electronic version only, by the date set for that purpose, the interrogatory, the response, the unsatisfied personís notice and the grounds upon which the person who provided the response relies to conclude that the response is sufficient. The Board will dispose of the issue shortly thereafter.

  5. Filing of Cases

    A case is filed with the Board in electronic version and in 10 copies, and served on all other participants on the date set for that purpose. A case will contain the following documents:

    (i) a statement of case setting out the participantís arguments and how he or she intends to establish it. The statement will be in the form of a written opening statement and will contain a list of witnesses and an estimate of the time required to present their evidence. It will also contain a detailed explanation of any proposed changes to the current tariff;

    (ii) a statement for each non-expert witness. The statement must be detailed enough to allow the Board to follow easily the evidence as it is presented and to determine, in advance of the hearing, any issue that the evidence and arguments might raise;

    (iii) all expert reports; and

    (iv) all other evidence upon which the participant intends to rely.

    Participants file as evidence only those responses to interrogatories to which they know they intend to refer.

    A modified version of the statement of case may be filed in the course of the proceedings.

    To the extent possible, exhibits are submitted in a three-ring binder. Exhibits are separated by consecutively numbered tabs. Each exhibit bears the abbreviation of the name of the participant producing it, as assigned in Appendix I, together with its consecutive number. Exhibit No. 1 is the statement of case.

    Extremely voluminous source documentation used to prepare derived exhibits is filed in one copy with the Board and is not served on participants. The Board will arrange for reasonable access to such documentation.

    Participants who fail to file a statement of case are deemed to have withdrawn from the proceedings.

  6. Reply Evidence

    The collective societies can file supplementary evidence by the date set for that purpose. That evidence should only be in response to the evidence filed by the objectors and not be used to introduce evidence that is not related to the objectorsí evidence or evidence that could reasonably have been filed with the case in chief.

  7. Brief on Legal Issues

    Participants may be asked to file a brief on legal issues, along with a list of authorities referred to, by a date to be determined later.

  8. Pre-Hearing Conference

    If required, the Board will hold a pre-hearing conference if it may help to simplify or accelerate the presentation of the evidence and the conduct of the proceedings.

  9. Filing of Documents During the Hearing

    Filing of documents during the hearing must be kept to a strict minimum. Anyone who intends to file such evidence must provide other participants and the Board with the required copies as soon as possible.

    Participants may be allowed to refer to a response that was not filed as part of their evidence if this becomes necessary as a result of the testimony of an opposing witness, for the purposes of cross-examination or rebuttal.

  10. Decision

    The Board will send a copy of the approved tariff, together with reasons for the Board??s decision, to all participants.


APPENDIX I
List of Participants
[Name of Participant] Identification:


APPENDIX II
(Form of Interrogatories)

File:

From: [participant(s) addressing the interrogatory]

To: [participant(s) to whom the interrogatory is addressed]

1.

2. (...)

Note: The interrogatories are numbered consecutively and are set out one after the other.



APPENDIX III
(Form of Response to Interrogatories)

File: Response to Interrogatory Number
Identifying Code [see note below]
Page 1 of †† pages

________________________________
Q. (reproduce interrogatory in full)

R. (set out response)

Note:

  1. The identifying code is comprised of:

    - the number of the interrogatory
    - in parentheses, the Appendix I abbreviation of the responding participant

  2. The answer to each interrogatory must begin on a separate page.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

MODÈLE DE DIRECTIVE SUR LA PROCÉDURE

La présente directive décrit la façon dont la Commission procède généralement lorsqu’elle examine un projet de tarif et les oppositions qui y ont été formulées. La directive vise à assurer le déroulement efficace et simple de l’affaire tout en offrant les garanties procédurales appropriées.

A. DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
  1. Dépôt et signification de documents

    Tout document est déposé auprès de la Commission en version électronique au Secrétaire général, soit par courriel, soit sur un autre support (CD-ROM, DVD ou clé USB) lorsque l’envoi de document est volumineux. Des copies papier de ces documents doivent également être acheminées à la Commission, par la poste ou par messager, pour réception le même jour, au :

    Secrétaire général
    Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada
    56, rue Sparks, Bureau 800
    Ottawa (ON) K1A 0C9
    Téléphone: 613.952.8624

    La version électronique doit permettre à la Commission d’importer du texte, en tout ou en partie, dans un logiciel de traitement de texte.

    Le document acheminé à la Commission par la poste ou par messager est accompagné d’une liste indiquant le nom des personnes à qui le document a été signifié.

    La personne qui signifie un document en conserve une preuve permettant d’établir que la signification a véritablement eu lieu.

    La date du dépôt ou de la signification d’un document est celle à laquelle le destinataire le reçoit.

  2. Observations

    Toute personne peut formuler par écrit des observations relativement à la présente affaire. En principe, la Commission ne tient pas compte des observations reçues après la date fixée pour la présentation des plaidoiries orales ou le dépôt des argumentations écrites des participants. En temps utile, la Commission transmet ces observations aux participants.

  3. Intervenants

    La Commission peut permettre à une personne d’intervenir dans la présente affaire. L’intervention est permise dans la mesure où la Commission la juge utile, compte tenu de l’intérêt de la personne qui demande à intervenir et du degré de participation recherché.

    La personne désirant intervenir dépose à la Commission une demande à cet effet. La demande décrit la nature de son intérêt et le degré de participation recherché. Elle indique notamment si la personne entend uniquement présenter des observations écrites ou si elle désire aussi présenter une preuve et contre-interroger les témoins.

    La demande d’intervention est déposée le plus tôt possible. La Commission rejette habituellement la demande si l’intervention risque de retarder inutilement le déroulement de l’instance.

    Les participants sont tenus informés de toute demande d’intervention. Un participant peut s’y opposer.

    La personne admise à intervenir a les mêmes droits et obligations que les autres participants, à moins que la Commission en décide autrement. Elle est assujettie à l’échéancier et aux règles établis dans la présente directive.

    L’intervenant ou autre participant qui soutient le point de vue d’une société de gestion est assujetti au même échéancier que cette dernière. À l’audience, il présente sa preuve immédiatement après celle-ci.

  4. Inventaire de la preuve documentaire

    De temps à autre, la Commission établit un inventaire de la preuve déposée. La personne qui n’a pas reçu un document peut s’adresser à celle qui l’a produit pour en obtenir copie.

  5. Format des documents

    Dans la mesure du possible, les documents produits sont de format 8 1/2" x 11".

  6. Subpoena

    Sur demande ou d’office, la Commission peut assigner une personne à comparaître, à témoigner et à produire tout document que la Commission juge utile. Un subpœna est émis par le Secrétaire général.

  7. Liste des participants

    L'annexe I énumère les noms et adresses de ceux qui ont fait connaître leur intention de participer dans la présente affaire.

  8. Traitement confidentiel des documents

    Les documents que la Commission reçoit sont versés au dossier public, à moins qu’elle n’en décide autrement.

    Les participants devraient tenter de s’entendre sur la façon de traiter un renseignement ou un document avant le dépôt d’une demande de traitement confidentiel.

    Le document faisant l’objet de la demande de traitement confidentiel est déposé avec celle-ci auprès de la Commission. La demande énonce les motifs, ainsi que la façon dont les renseignements pourraient être fournis tout en préservant leur caractère confidentiel. La demande est signifiée aux autres participants, qui doivent faire parvenir leurs commentaires à la date fixée pour ce faire.

    Lorsqu’elle dispose d’une demande de traitement confidentiel, la Commission peut ordonner qu’un document ne soit pas versé au dossier public. Elle peut également ordonner qu’une version abrégée ou expurgée du document ou seulement certains extraits le soient.

    L’ordonnance prévoit l’ampleur des renseignements qui doivent être divulgués aux participants ou à leur conseiller juridique sous le sceau du secret et la façon de le faire. La Commission peut d’office, et même si les participants s’entendent sur ce point, refuser une demande de traitement confidentiel.

    Lorsqu’une demande de traitement confidentiel est refusée, le document pertinent n’est pas dévoilé immédiatement, de façon à permettre à l’intéressé de le retirer, si la Commission autorise ce retrait, ou de se pourvoir comme il l’entend.

    Dans tous les documents déposés auprès de la Commission, les renseignements confidentiels doivent être surlignés en jaune et les renseignements très confidentiels surlignés en bleu.

  9. Transcriptions

    La Commission a conclu une entente avec une société commerciale pour la préparation des transcriptions des débats lors de l’audience. On peut en obtenir copie directement de cette société.

  10. Langue de communication

    Les participants et les témoins communiquent entre eux et avec la Commission dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Sur demande adressée au Secrétaire général, formulée au moins 14 jours avant la journée d’audience durant laquelle on désire obtenir l’interprétation simultanée, la Commission fournit ce service.

    Un document peut être rédigé dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles.

  11. Souplesse

    La Commission peut modifier l’une ou l’autre des dispositions de la présente directive ou en suspendre l’application.


B. DÉROULEMENT DE LA PROCÉDURE
  1. Demandes de renseignements

    Les demandes de renseignements ne sont PAS déposées auprès de la Commission. Elles sont signifiées à leur destinataire, dans la forme prévue à l'annexe II, au plus tard à la date fixée pour ce faire. On peut les adresser à tout participant admis à présenter une preuve ou à contre-interroger les témoins.

    La Commission peut adresser des demandes de renseignements à un participant, en tout temps.

  2. Oppositions aux demandes de renseignements

    Le participant qui songe à s’opposer à une demande de renseignements qu’il a reçue tente d’abord d’en arriver à une entente avec la personne qui a formulé la demande.

    Si la personne qui s’oppose à une demande de renseignements prétend que les renseignements demandés ne sont pas disponibles, elle offre de fournir tout autre renseignement disponible qui, à son avis, serait utile à la personne qui a formulé la demande.

    S’il y a toujours mésentente, la personne ayant formulé la demande de renseignements signifie à la personne qui s’y oppose et dépose auprès de la Commission la demande, l’énoncé des motifs au soutien de l’opposition et un énoncé des motifs à l’appui du maintien de la demande. La Commission disposera de la question peu de temps après.

    Le caractère prétendument confidentiel d’un document n'est pasun motif valable pour refuser de répondre à une demande de renseignements. Cette information sera traitée selon l'ordonnance de la Commission sur la question.

  3. Réponses aux demandes de renseignements

    Les réponses aux demandes de renseignements sont signifiées à la personne qui a formulé les demandes au plus tard à la date fixée pour ce faire et présentées dans la forme prévue à l'annexe III. Les réponses ne sont PAS déposées auprès de la Commission.

  4. Réponses jugées incomplètes ou insatisfaisantes

    La personne insatisfaite de la réponse à une de ses demandes de renseignements fait parvenir à la personne qui a fourni la réponse, au plus tard à la date fixée pour ce faire, un avis motivé à cet égard. La Commission tranche toute mésentente qui subsiste. Dans ce but, la personne ayant fourni la réponse signifie à celle qui en est insatisfaite et dépose auprès de la Commission, en version électronique seulement, au plus tard à la date fixée pour ce faire, la demande, la réponse, l’avis de la personne insatisfaite de la réponse et un énoncé des motifs sur lesquels la personne ayant fourni la réponse se fonde pour conclure que la réponse est suffisante. La Commission disposera de la question peu de temps après.

  5. Dépôt de la preuve

    Chaque dossier est déposé auprès de la Commission en version électronique et en 10 copies, et signifié aux autres participants à la date fixée pour ce faire. Le dossier comporte les documents suivants :

    (i) un mémoire énonçant les prétentions du participant et décrivant la façon dont on entend les appuyer. Le mémoire prend la forme d’une déclaration liminaire écrite et nomme les témoins qu’on fera entendre et indique le temps requis pour présenter sa preuve. Il explique aussi de façon détaillée tout changement proposé au tarif en vigueur;

    (ii) un sommaire écrit de la déclaration des témoins autres que les experts. Le sommaire est suffisamment détaillé pour permettre à la Commission de suivre aisément le déroulement de la preuve et d’identifier à l’avance les questions que celle-ci pourrait soulever;

    (iii) les rapports des témoins experts;

    (iv) tout autre élément de preuve sur lequel le participant entend fonder son argumentation.

    Les participants déposent en preuve uniquement les réponses aux demandes de renseignements auxquelles ils entendent faire référence.

    Une version modifiée du mémoire peut être déposée au fur et à mesure du déroulement de l’affaire.

    Dans la mesure du possible, les documents sont réunis dans un cahier à anneaux et séparés par des onglets numérotés consécutivement. On assigne à chaque document un code d’identification composé de l’abréviation assignée dans l’annexe I à celui qui le produit et d’un numéro. L’énoncé de cause (ou le mémoire) porte le numéro 1.

    Les documents de base très volumineux dont sont dérivés certains éléments de preuve sont déposés en une copie auprès de la Commission et ne sont pas signifiés aux participants. La Commission permet à ceux qui le désirent d’avoir un accès raisonnable à cette documentation.

    Le participant qui n’a pas déposé de mémoire cesse de participer à l’affaire.

  6. Preuve en réplique

    À la date fixée pour ce faire, la société de gestion est autorisée à déposer une preuve en réplique. Cette preuve supplémentaire doit servir uniquement à répondre à la preuve des opposants et non à introduire de la preuve sans rapport à celles des opposants ou qui aurait pu raisonnablement être déposée avec la preuve principale.

  7. Mémoire sur les questions d’ordre juridique

    On pourra demander aux participants de déposer un mémoire portant sur les questions d’ordre juridique, accompagné d’une liste d’autorités, à une date qui sera établie plus tard.

  8. Conférence préparatoire

    S’il y a lieu, la Commission tiendra une conférence préparatoire pour traiter de toute question pouvant simplifier et accélérer la présentation de la preuve et le déroulement de l’affaire.

  9. Production de documents durant l'audience

    La production de documents durant l’audience doit être limitée au strict minimum. Quiconque entend ajouter à la preuve documentaire doit fournir les copies qui s’imposent aux participants et à la Commission dès que possible.

    Un participant peut toujours se reporter à une réponse qui n’a pas été déposée si le besoin est, suite aux déclarations d’un témoin adverse, que ce soit à des fins de contre-interrogatoire ou de contre-preuve.

  10. Décision

    La Commission fera parvenir une copie du tarif homologué, accompagnée des motifs de sa décision, à tous les participants.


ANNEXE I
Liste des participants
[Nom du participant] Identification :


ANNEXE II
(Présentation des demandes de renseignements)

Dossier :

Demande de renseignements

De : [participant(s) qui formule(nt) la demande]

À : [participant(s) à qui la demande est adressée]

1.

2. (...)

Note : les demandes portent des numéros consécutifs et sont formulées à la suite les unes des autres.



 
ANNEXE III
(Présentation de la réponse à une demande de renseignements)

Dossier : Réponse à la demande de renseignements no
Code d'identification [voir note ci-dessous]
Page 1 de pages

________________________________
Q. (reproduire le texte de la question)

R. (réponse)

Note explicative :

  1. Le code d'identification comporte :

    - le numéro de la demande
    - l'abréviation (entre parenthèses) du nom de celui à qui la demande est adressée, assignée à l'annexe I

  2. Chaque demande de renseignements fait l'objet d'une page distincte.