Copyright Board Canada
Canada



Minister’s Message

Minister’s Message Canada will continue to benefit from responsible economic policies in 2015–16, including our low taxes, free trade opportunities and responsible investment regime.

The Industry Portfolio will help sustain job creation and economic growth by effectively managing programs and services that help Canadian companies compete and innovate. Canadians can depend on our government to invest in programs that benefit them the most. In 2015– 16, the Industry Portfolio will continue to invest in world-class research and innovation that help companies compete at home and abroad.

In 2015–16, the Copyright Board of Canada will continue rendering decisions related to tariffs of general application and issuing licences where parties cannot agree or licences where the owner of the work cannot be found.

The Industry Portfolio will help deliver on our government’s commitment to return to a balanced budget by managing programs and services effectively. I am confident that we will meet our objective and that Copyright Board of Canada will continue to contribute toward economic growth and prosperity that benefit all Canadians.

James Moore
Minister of Industry

Section I: Organizational Expenditure Overview

Organizational Profile

Minister: The Honourable James Moore

Deputy Head: Claude Majeau, Vice-Chairman and CEO

Ministerial portfolio: Industry Canada

Year established: 1989

Main legislative authorities: Copyright Act

Organizational Context

Raison d’être

The Copyright Board is an economic regulatory body empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of copyrighted works, when the administration of such copyright is entrusted to a collective-administration society. The Board also has the right to supervise agreements between users and licensing bodies and issues licences when the copyright owner cannot be located.

Responsibilities

The responsibilities of the Copyright Board under the Act are to:

  • certify tariffs for
    • the public performance of the communication to the public by telecommunication of musical works and sound recordings;
    • the doing of any protected act mentioned in sections 3, 15, 18 and 21 of the Act;
    • the retransmission of distant television and radio signals or the reproduction and public performance by educational institutions, of radio or television news or news commentary programs and all other programs, for educational or training purposes.
  • set levies for the private copying of recorded musical works;
  • set royalties payable by a user to a collective society, when there is disagreement on the royalties or on the related terms and conditions;
  • rule on applications for non-exclusive licences to use published works, fixed performances, published sound recordings and fixed communication signals, when the copyright owner cannot be located;
  • examine agreements made between a collective society and a user which have been filed with the Board by either party, where the Commissioner of Competition considers that the agreement is contrary to the public interest;
  • receive such agreements with collective societies that are filed with it by any part y to those agreements within 15 days of their conclusion;
  • determine the compensation to be paid by a copyright owner to a person to stop her from performing formerly unprotected acts in countries that later join the Berne Convention, the Universal Convention or the Agreement establishing the World Trade Organization; and,
  • conduct studies with respect to the exercise of its powers as requested by the Minister of Industry.

Strategic Outcome(s) and Program Alignment Architecture

1 Strategic Outcome: Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works.

1.1 Program: Copyright Tariff Setting and Issuance of Licences

Internal Services

Organizational Priorities

Priority Type1 Strategic Outcome(s) [and/or] Program(s)
Ensure timely and fair processes and decisions Ongoing Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works
Description

Why is this a priority?

The requirement to have timely decisions is expressly stated in the Act: the Board is to certify and publish tariffs “as soon as is practicable.” The requirement to have fair processes and decisions is implicit: the Act gives the Board the powers, rights and privileges of a superior court; as such, the Board is required to follow the principles of natural justice which, taken together, ensure both fair processes and fair outcomes.

What are the plans for meeting this priority?

To achieve this priority, the Board will need to ensure that participation costs in the hearing process are kept as low as possible, thus encouraging participation of the parties and streamlining the process. The Board will also need to provide appropriate guidance, information and analysis to the participants in order to facilitate the examination process and to foster greater participants’ satisfaction. This will be done, in particular, through telephone advisories and case management meetings with representatives. Finally, by engaging in pre- hearing consultations and information gathering, and by conducting well-organized proceedings which address key issues facing copyright-related industries, the Board will be able to issue timely and fair decisions.

The monitoring of this priority will be achieved by informally surveying hearing participants, with follow-up examination and determination of alternative procedural practices to improve the efficiency of the regulatory process. The achievement of this result is also directly monitored through the timely conduct of hearing processes and lack of interruption in proceedings due to administrative and technical delays. The Board also plans to continue to examine, for each process, how to structure and sequence witnesses and hearing stages so as to eliminate duplication and maximize time spent on relevant issues.

In addition, the Board established a Working Committee on its Operations, Procedures and Processes, comprised of key stakeholders, to examine possible improvements to the Board’s current practices and procedures, with a view to reducing uncertainty and streamlining the processes while safeguarding the fairness of the process. The Committee identified three areas amenable to significant improvements within a fairly short time frame: the identification and disclosure of issues to be addressed during a tariff proceeding, interrogatories and the confidential treatment of information. A draft discussion paper dealing with the first two areas has been finalized and a sub-committee is tackling the complex issues raised by the third. The Board plans to hold public consultations in respect of these issues in 2015-16.

The rationale underlying this priority is to minimize administrative costs to Canadians from the setting of tariffs and to streamline the process in the face of increasing complexities in hearing subject matter, thus increasing regulatory efficiency. To the extent that this also leads to fairer decision-making, the overall innovation capability of parties affected by the copyright tariff process will be improved.

Priority Type Strategic Outcome(s) and/or Program(s)
Advance the analytical framework for decisions and the regulatory processes for tariff-setting Ongoing Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works
Description

Why is this a priority?

The Board is required, under the Act, to give reasons for its decisions. In keeping with the modern principles of judicial review, the Federal Court of Appeal typically defers to the Board’s expert understanding of the facts before it. The Board can only maintain this deference by constantly advancing its analytical frameworks.

What are the plans for meeting this priority?

Among the most significant risks which the Board faces in achieving its strategic outcomes are the potentially disruptive impact of new technologies, in particular on how copyright material is utilized, distributed and monitored. Fair and equitable decisions critically depend on the Board’s ability to identify, understand and assess the industry issues before they adversely impact existing copyright regimes. The Board’s approach to managing the technology risk is to systematically monitor relevant journals, other publications and websites, and to attend industry seminars and conferences.

Knowledge of the international experience is also a key tool in addressing the challenges of changing technology and the impact of global events. By comparing experiences across different countries, the Board expects to gain early warning of significant developments and their likely impacts on the Canadian situation.

Leadership in copyright matters will continue to build on the groundwork performed in the past. The Board plans to continue its leadership role in the establishment and expansion of international activities such as sharing of procedures, data, analysis and other information. With a view to further this leadership, the Board will also continue to be involved with the international organization Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues in 2015-16.

By its involvement in international activities as they relate to copyright tariff setting in other parts of the world, the Board ensures that its own tariff-setting processes and decisions are cognizant of developments outside of Canada.

 

Risk Analysis

Key Risks

Risk Risk Response Strategy Link to Program Alignment Architecture
Technology risk
  • Systematically monitor relevant journals, other publications and web sites, and to attend industry seminars and conferences.
  • Risk was identified in the 2014-15 RPP.
  • No modifications to the risk mitigation strategies.
Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works.
Reversal risk
  • Issue fair and equitable decisions.
  • Risk was identified in the 2014-15 RPP.
  • No modifications to the risk mitigation strategies.
Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works.
HR risk
  • Run well-organized job competitions, designed to target a significant share of the pool of potential candidates.
  • Create a stimulating working environment conducive to a high retention rate among its employees.
  • Risk was identified in the 2014-15 RPP.
  • No modifications to the risk mitigation strategies.
Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works.
 

Among the most significant risks which the Board faces in achieving its strategic outcomes is the potentially disruptive impact of new technologies (i.e., in terms of how copyright material is utilized, distributed and monitored). The Board’s approach to managing the technology risk is to systematically monitor relevant journals, other publications and web sites, and to attend industry seminars and conferences, as described before in this report.

The decisions the Board makes are constrained in several respects. These constraints come from sources external to the Board: the law, regulations and judicial pronouncements. Others are self- imposed, in the form of guiding principles that can be found in the Board’s decisions: for instance, the coherence between the various tariffs, their ease of administration and the need for some stability in the tariffs.

Court decisions also provide a large part of the framework within which the Board operates. Most decisions focus on issues of procedure, or apply the general principles of administrative decision-making to the specific circumstances of the Board. However, the courts have also set out several substantive principles for the Board to follow or that determine the ambit of the Board’s mandate or discretion.

A smaller risk, which the Board faces in achieving its strategic outcome, is reversal risk. While decisions of the Board are not appealable, they are subject to judicial review. The ability to schedule a number of cases in a year could be impaired if a case from a previous year were reversed on judicial review. The Board’s principal strategy to mitigate this risk is issuing fair and equitable decisions.

There is always a risk of not being able to hire or retain the staff with the necessary technical expertise to achieve required results. To mitigate this risk, the Board runs well-organized job competitions, designed to target a significant share of the pool of potential candidates. The Board also takes measures to encourage a large number of applications. The Board also works at creating a stimulating working environment conducive to a high retention rate among its employees.

Planned Expenditures

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2015-16
Main Estimates
2015-16
Planned Spending
2016-17
Planned Spending
2017-18
Planned Spending
3,110,713 3,110,713 3,104,640 3,104,640
 
Human Resources (Full-Time Equivalents [FTEs])
2015-16 2016-17 2017-18
18 18 18
 
Budgetary Planning Summary for Strategic Outcome(s) and Program(s) (dollars)
Strategic Outcome(s), Program(s) and Internal Services 2012-13
Expenditures
2013-14
Expenditures
2014-15
Forecast Spending
2015-16
Main Estimates
2015-16
Planned Spending
2016-17
Planned Spending
2017-18
Planned Spending
Strategic Outcome 1: Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works
Copyright Tariff Setting and Issuance of Licences 2,032,000 2,251,535 2,524,213 2,519,678 2,519,678 2,514,758 2,514,758
Subtotal 2,032,000 2,251,535 2,524,213 2,519,678 2,519,678 2,514,758 2,514,758
Internal Services Subtotal 477,000 528,137 592,099 591,035 591,035 589,882 589,882
Total 2,509,000 2,779,672 3,116,312 3,110,713 3,110,713 3,104,640 3,104,640
 

Alignment of Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework

Alignment of 2015-16 Planned Spending With the Whole-of-Government Framework (dollars)
(Dollars)
Strategic Outcome Program Spending Area Government of Canada Outcome 2015-16 Planned Spending
Fair decision-making to provide proper incentives for the creation and use of copyrighted works Copyright Tariff Setting and Issuance of Licences Economic Affairs An innovative and knowledge-based economy 2,519,678
 
Total Spending by Spending Area (dollars)
Spending Area Total Planned Spending
Economic Affairs 2,519,678
Social Affairs
International Affairs
Government Affairs
 

Departmental Spending Trend

Departmental Spending Trend Graph

(dollars)

Departmental Spending Trend Graph

Actual spending was $2.8 million in 2013-14, an increase of about $300,000 over 2012-13. This is mainly a reflection of some vacant positions at the Board that have been staffed. As the Board filled some other vacant positions in 2014-15, forecast spending for that fiscal year is about $3.1 million.

Over the next three fiscal years, total planned spending will be about $3.1 million, the same as the 2014-15 forecast spending.

Estimates by Vote

For information on the Copyright Board's organizational appropriations, consult the 2015-16 Main Estimates on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune




Message du Ministre

Message du Ministre En 2015-2016, le Canada continuera de profiter de politiques économiques judicieuses, dont les faibles taxes et impôts, les accords de libre-échange et un régime d’investissement équilibré.

Le portefeuille de l’Industrie appuiera la création d’emplois et la croissance économique en assurant la saine gestion de programmes et services qui aident les entreprises canadiennes à livrer concurrence et à innover. Les Canadiens peuvent compter sur notre gouvernement pour investir dans les programmes qui leur seront les plus avantageux. En 2015-2016, le portefeuille de l’Industrie maintiendra ses investissements dans la recherche et l’innovation de calibre mondial afin de soutenir la concurrence des entreprises ici comme à l’étranger.

En 2015-2016, la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada continuera de rendre des décisions sur les tarifs de nature générale et de délivrer des licences lorsque les parties ne s’entendent pas ou lorsque le propriétaire de l’œuvre est introuvable.

Le portefeuille de l’Industrie contribuera à concrétiser l’engagement du gouvernement à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en gérant efficacement ses programmes et services. Je suis persuadé que nous atteindrons notre objectif et que la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada poursuivra ses efforts afin de stimuler la croissance économique et la prospérité, au profit de tous les Canadiens.

Le ministre de l’Industrie,

L'honorable James Moore

Section I : Vue d'ensemble des dépenses de l'organisation

Profil organisationnel

Ministre : L'honorable James Moore

Administrateur général : Claude Majeau, Vice-président et premier dirigeant

Portefeuille ministériel : Industrie Canada

Année de création : 1989

Principales autorités législatives : Loi sur le droit d'auteur

Contexte organisationnel

Raison d'être

La Commission est un organisme de réglementation économique investi du pouvoir d’établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d’un intéressé, les redevances à verser pour l’utilisation d’œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur, lorsque la gestion de ce droit est confiée à une société de gestion collective. Par ailleurs, la Commission exerce un pouvoir de surveillance des ententes intervenues entre utilisateurs et sociétés de gestion, et délivre elle-même des licences lorsque le titulaire du droit d’auteur est introuvable.

Responsabilités

Les responsabilités de la Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada en vertu de la Loi sont de :

  • homologuer les tarifs pour
    • l’exécution publique et la communication au public par télécommunication d’œuvres musicales et d’enregistrements sonores;
    • l’accomplissement de tout acte protégé mentionné aux articles 3, 15, 18 et 21 de la Loi;
    • la retransmission de signaux éloignés de télévision et de radio, ou pour la reproduction et l’exécution publique par des établissements d’enseignement, à des fins pédagogiques, d’émissions ou de commentaires d’actualité et toute autre émission de télévision et de radio;
  • fixer les redevances pour la copie pour usage privé d’œuvres musicales enregistrées;
  • fixer les redevances payables par un utilisateur à une société de gestion, s’il y a mésentente sur les redevances ou sur les modalités afférentes;
  • se prononcer sur des demandes de licences non exclusives pour utiliser une œuvre publiée, la fixation d’une prestation, un enregistrement sonore publié ou la fixation d’un signal de communication dont le titulaire du droit d’auteur est introuvable;
  • examiner les ententes conclues entre une société de gestion et un utilisateur et déposées auprès de la Commission par une partie, lorsque le Commissaire de la concurrence estime que l’entente est contraire à l’intérêt public;
  • être dépositaire des ententes avec les sociétés de gestion déposées par une des parties à l’entente dans les quinze jours suivant leur conclusion;
  • fixer l’indemnité à verser par un titulaire de droit d’auteur à une personne pour qu’elle cesse d’accomplir des actes protégés suite à l’adhésion d’un pays à la Convention de Berne, à la Convention universelle ou à l’Accord instituant l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, mais qui ne l’étaient pas au moment où ils ont été accomplis;
  • à la demande du ministre de l’Industrie, effectuer toute étude touchant ses attributions.

Résultats stratégiques et architecture d’alignement des programmes

1 Résultat stratégique : Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur.

1.1 Programme : Établissement de tarifs et octroi de licences liés au droit d’auteur.

Services internes

Priorités organisationnelles

Priorité Type1 Résultat stratégique
Veiller à l’équité et au caractère opportun des processus et des décisions Permanent Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur
Description

Pourquoi s'agit-il d'une priorité?

La nécessité d’avoir des décisions opportunes provient expressément dans la Loi : la Commission doit homologuer et publier les tarifs « dans les meilleurs délais. » La nécessité d’avoir des processus et des décisions équitables est implicite : la Loi donne à la Commission les attributions d’une cour supérieure. Par conséquent, la Commission doit suivre les principes de justice naturelle qui, pris ensemble, garantissent des processus et des résultats équitables.

Plans en vue de donner suite à la priorité

Pour réaliser cette priorité, la Commission devra veiller à ce que les coûts de participation aux audiences demeurent le plus bas possible, afin de susciter la participation des parties et de rationaliser le processus. La Commission devra également fournir le soutien, les renseignements et l’analyse nécessaires aux participants afin de faciliter le processus d’examen des instances et favoriser la satisfaction des participants. La Commission atteindra cet objectif en particulier en donnant des avis par téléphone et en tenant des réunions de gestion des dossiers avec les représentants. Enfin, en effectuant des consultations, en obtenant des renseignements et en menant des audiences bien structurées à l’égard des principaux enjeux auxquels les industries liées au droit d’auteur doivent faire face, la Commission sera en mesure de produire des décisions équitables en temps opportun.

La réalisation de cette priorité sera suivie au moyen de sondages informels des participants aux audiences, accompagnés de contrôles de suivi et de la détermination de pratiques procédurales différentes devant permettre d’accroître l’efficacité du processus de réglementation. L’atteinte de ce résultat se vérifiera aussi de façon directe par la conduite du processus en temps opportun et par l’absence d’interruptions attribuables à des retards d’ordre administratif et technique. Enfin, la Commission prévoit continuer à examiner, dans chaque cas, la façon d’élaborer la structure et la séquence des témoignages et des phases d’audiences de manière à éliminer le double emploi et à maximiser le temps alloué aux questions pertinentes.

De plus, la Commission a mis en œuvre un Groupe de travail sur ses opérations, ses procédures et ses processus, réunissant les principales parties intéressées, dans le but d’examiner les solutions de rechange aux procédures et pratiques actuelles et de réduire l’incertitude ainsi que la longueur et les coûts des procédures, tout en maintenant l’équité procédurale. Le Groupe a identifié trois aspects pouvant faire l’objet d’améliorations importantes en assez peu de temps, soit : l’identification et la divulgation des questions soulevées par l’examen d’un projet de tarif, les demandes de renseignements et le traitement confidentiel de l’information. Une ébauche d’un document de discussion traitant des deux premiers aspects a été préparée pendant qu’un sous-comité s’attaquait aux questions complexes soulevées par le troisième. La Commission planifie tenir des consultations publiques sur ces questions pendant l’exercice 2015-2016.

Cette priorité s’explique par la volonté de réduire au minimum les coûts administratifs de l’établissement des tarifs pour les Canadiens et de rationaliser le processus, compte tenu de la complexité croissante des questions soulevées aux audiences, pour ainsi rendre la réglementation plus efficace. Dans la mesure où cette démarche permettra d’obtenir des décisions plus équitables, la capacité globale d’innovation des parties qui sont touchées par le processus tarifaire du droit d’auteur s’en trouvera améliorée.

Priorité Type Résultat stratégique
Faire évoluer le cadre d’analyse des décisions et des processus de réglementation pour l’établissement des tarifs Permanent Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur
Description

Pourquoi s'agit-il d'une priorité?

En vertu de la Loi, les décisions de la Commission doivent être accompagnées de motifs. Selon les principes modernes de révision judiciaire, la Cour d’appel fédérale s’en remet à la Commission à l’égard de la compréhension de la preuve d’expert. La Commission ne peut préserver cette déférence qu’en faisant progresser son cadre analytique.

Plans en vue de donner suite à la priorité

Parmi les risques auxquels est confrontée la Commission en cherchant à atteindre ses résultats stratégiques se trouvent les effets potentiellement déstabilisateurs des nouvelles technologies, en particulier lorsqu’il s’agit de la façon dont les œuvres protégées par le droit d’auteur sont utilisées, distribuées et surveillées. La capacité de la Commission à déterminer, comprendre et évaluer les problèmes de l’industrie avant qu’ils n’affectent les régimes de droits d’auteur existants est cruciale du point de vue de l’équité des décisions. En ce qui concerne la gestion du risque technologique, la stratégie de la Commission consiste à surveiller systématiquement les revues pertinentes, d’autres publications et les sites Web, et de participer aux séminaires et conférences de l’industrie.

La connaissance de l’expérience acquise au niveau international est un autre instrument essentiel pour surmonter les difficultés de l’évolution technologique et les répercussions des événements mondiaux. En comparant les expériences de divers pays, la Commission s’attend à être au courant des faits nouveaux d’importance et de leurs répercussions possibles sur la situation au Canada.

Le leadership en matière de droit d’auteur continuera de s’appuyer sur le travail de base effectué dans le passé. La Commission prévoit continuer à exercer son leadership sur l’établissement et l’expansion des activités internationales, comme la mise en commun des procédures, décisions et autres renseignements. À cet égard, la Commission continuera également d’être impliquée au sein de l’organisme international Society for Economic Research on Copyright Issues en 2015-2016.

Grâce à sa participation à des activités internationales portant sur l’établissement des tarifs de droit d’auteur ailleurs dans le monde, la Commission s’assure que ses propres processus ne sont pas établis en vase clos et qu’ils tiennent compte de ce qui se fait à l’étranger.

 

Analyse des risques

Risque Stratégie de réaction au risque Lien vers l'Architecture d'alignement des programmes
Risque de la technologie
  • Suivre de façon systématique les revues pertinentes, les autres publications, et les sites web et assister aux séminaires et conférences de l’industrie.
  • Le risque a été identifié dans le RPP de 2014-2015.
  • Aucune modification aux stratégies de mitigation de risque.
Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur.
Risque d’être renversé
  • Rendre des décisions justes et équitables.
  • Le risque a été identifié dans le RPP de 2014-2015.
  • Aucune modification aux stratégies de mitigation de risque.
Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur.
Risque de ressources humaines
  • Mener des processus de dotation bien organisés, ciblant une partie importante du bassin des candidats potentiels.
  • Créer un environnement de travail stimulant, qui mène à un taux de rétention élevé de ses employés.
  • Le risque a été identifié dans le RPP de 2014-2015.
  • Aucune modification aux stratégies de mitigation de risque.
Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur.

L’effet potentiellement perturbateur des nouvelles technologies, qui permettent l’utilisation, la distribution et le contrôle du matériel protégé par un droit d’auteur, figure parmi les risques importants auxquels est exposée la Commission dans la poursuite de ses résultats stratégiques. La Commission gère le risque technologique en surveillant systématiquement les revues pertinentes, d’autres publications et les sites Web, et en participant à des séminaires et conférences de l’industrie, tel que décrit précédemment dans ce rapport.

Plusieurs balises viennent encadrer le pouvoir d’appréciation de la Commission. La source de ces contraintes peut être externe : loi, règlements et décisions judiciaires. D’autres lignes de conduite sont établies par la Commission elle-même, dans ses décisions : par exemple, la cohérence entre les différents tarifs, leur facilité d’administration et le besoin de stabilité des tarifs.

Les décisions des tribunaux ont pour une large part défini le cadre juridique à l’intérieur duquel la Commission exerce son mandat. Pour la plupart, ces décisions portent sur des questions de procédure ou appliquent les principes généraux du droit administratif aux circonstances particulières de la Commission. Cela dit, les tribunaux judiciaires ont aussi établi plusieurs principes de fond auxquels la Commission est soumise.

Dans la réalisation de son résultat stratégique, la Commission fait face à un risque, plus faible, de voir ses décisions renversées. Bien que les décisions de la Commission ne soient pas assujetties à un appel, elles peuvent faire l’objet d’une révision judiciaire. La capacité de la Commission d’entendre plusieurs dossiers au cours d’une année pourrait être menacée si une décision à l’égard d’une année précédente était renversée par le biais d’une révision judiciaire. La stratégie principale de la Commission pour mitiger ce risque est de publier des décisions justes et équitables.

Il y a toujours un risque associé à l’embauche et la rétention de personnel possédant l’expertise technique nécessaire à l’obtention des résultats. Pour mitiger ce risque, la Commission mène des processus de dotation bien organisés, visant à cibler une partie significative du bassin de candidat(e)s potentiel(le)s. La Commission cherche également à créer un environnement de travail stimulant et favorable à un taux de rétention élevé parmi ses employés.

Dépenses prévues

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2015-2016
Dépenses prévues
2015-2016
Dépenses prévues
2016-2017
Dépenses prévues
2017-2018
3 110 713 3 110 713 3 104 640 3 104 640
 
Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein [ETP])
2015-2016 2016-2017 2017-2018
18 18 18
 
Sommaire de la planification budgétaire pour les résultats stratégiques et les programmes (en dollars)
Résultats stratégiques, programmes et Services internes Dépenses
2012-2013
Dépenses
2013-2014
Dépenses projetées
2014-1205
Budget principal des dépenses
2015-2016
Dépenses prévues
2015-2016
Dépenses prévues
2016-2017
Dépenses prévues
2017-2018
Résultat stratégique 1 : Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l'utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d'auteur
Établissement de tarifs et octroi de licences liés au droit d'auteur 2 032 000 2 251 535 2 524 213 2 519 678 2 519 678 2 514 758 2 514 758
Total partiel 2 032 000 2 251 535 2 524 213 2 519 678 2 519 678 2 514 758 2 514 758
Services internes – Total partiel 477 000 528 137 592 099 591 035 591 035 589 882 589 882
Total 2 509 000 2 779 672 3 116 312 3 110 713 3 110 713 3 104 640 3 104 640
 

Harmonisation des dépenses avec le cadre pangouvernemental

Harmonisation des dépenses prévues pour 2015 2016 avec le cadre pangouvernemental
(dollars)
Résultat stratégique Programme Secteur des dépenses Résultat du gouvernement du Canada Dépenses prévues 2015-2016
Instaurer un processus décisionnel équitable qui incite à la création et à l’utilisation des œuvres protégées par un droit d’auteur Établissement de tarifs et octroi de licences liés au droit d’auteur Affaires économiques Une économie axée sur l'innovation et le savoir 2 519 678
 
Total des dépenses prévues par secteur de dépenses
(dollars)
Secteur de dépenses Total des dépenses prévues
Affaires économiques 2 519 678
Affaires sociales
Affaires internationales
Affaires gouvernementales
 

Tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Graphique des tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère
(en sdollars)

Graphique des tendances relatives aux dépenses du ministère

Les dépenses réelles étaient de 2,8 millions de dollars en 2013-2014, une augmentation d’environ 300 000 $ par rapport à 2012-2013. Cela reflète principalement le pourvoi à certains postes vacants à la Commission. Puisque la Commission a pourvu à d’autres postes vacants en 2014-2015, les dépenses projetées pour cet exercice financier sont de 3,1 millions de dollars.

Au cours des trois prochains exercices financiers, les dépenses totales prévues sont d’environ 3,1 millions de dollars, le même niveau que celui des dépenses projetées pour 2014-2015.

Budget des dépenses par crédit voté

Pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet des crédits de la Commission, veuillez consulter le Budget principal des dépenses 2015-2016 sur le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.