Copyright Board Canada
Canada

COPYRIGHT REGULATIONS

  1. Regulations Establishing the Periods Within Which Eligible Authors, Eligible Performers and Eligible Makers not Represented by Collective Societies Can Claim Private Copying Remuneration
    SOR/2013-143 June 27, 2013

    Subsection 83(11) of the Copyright Act provides among other things that an eligible author, performer or maker who does not authorize a collective society to act on his or her behalf [a so-called "orphan" owner] can seek payment in the private copying regime from the collecting body that is designated by the Board for that purpose, in this case, the Canadian Private Copying Collective (CPCC). Paragraph 83(13)(b) provides that the Board may, by regulation, establish a period of not less than twelve months from the date of the expiry of a certified tariff within which this entitlement must be exercised.

  2. MicroSD Cards Exclusion Regulations (Copyright Act)
    SOR/2012-226 October 18, 2012

    The Regulations exclude microSD memory cards from the definition of "audio recording medium" in section 79 of the Copyright Act.

  3. Educational Program, Work and Other Subject-matter Record-keeping Regulations
    SOR/2001-296 August 31, 2001

    Since January 1, 1999, educational institutions and persons acting under their authority can, without the copyright owner's authorization, copy programs and other subject-matter when they are communicated to the public and perform those copies before an audience consisting primarily of students. In order to avail themselves of this exception, institutions must, among other things, keep records concerning the making, destruction, performance and marking of copies and share this information with collective societies. These Regulations, made pursuant to subsection 29.9(2) of the Copyright Act, set out these reporting requirements.

  4. Regulations Prescribing Networks (Copyright Act)
    SOR/99-348 October 1, 1999

    The Regulations aim at circumscribing the exception provided for in the Copyright Act allowing radio and television broadcasters to make temporary copies of performances of copyrighted works to facilitate programming and broadcasting operations.

  5. Exceptions for Educational Institutions, Libraries, Archives and Museums Regulations
    SOR/99-325 September 1, 1999

    The Regulations aim at circumscribing the exceptions provided for in the Copyright Act allowing non-profit libraries, archives and museums, including libraries in educational institutions, to make copies of copyrighted works on behalf of patrons who want them for the purposes of research, private study, criticism or review, education, parody or satire and in other special cases. The amendments to the Regulations repeal sections 5 and 7 and add a requirement for archives to provide new patrons with a written notice indicating that any copies of a work must be used solely for research or private study and that any other use may require the permission of the copyright owner of the work.

  6. Book Importation Regulations
    SOR/99-324 September 1, 1999

    The Copyright Act contains provisions which greatly increased the ability of exclusive distributors in Canada to protect their exclusive distribution rights in the Canadian market against the parallel importation of printed books. Parallel importation refers to books which were legitimately produced in their country of origin but which have been imported into Canada without the consent of the rights owner in Canada. The Regulations set out standards which exclusive distributors are required to adhere to in order to benefit from the additional protection they have under the regime. They also specify the categories of books that are partially or wholly excluded from the parallel importation provisions. The amendments modify some technical provisions with respect to notices, deadlines, etc.

  7. Cinematographic Works (Right to Remuneration) Regulations
    SOR/99-194 April 22, 1999

    The Copyright Act provides for rights for performers. Among these is a right to remuneration in respect of cinematographic works embodying their performances. These Regulations prescribe the types of cinematographic works in which this right to remuneration is available. The right to remuneration is available only if the contract governing the embodiment of the performer's performance has been concluded on or after the date on which these Regulations came into force.

  8. Limitation of the Right to Equitable Remuneration of Certain Rome Convention Countries Statement
    SOR/99-143 March 23, 1999

    Some Rome Convention countries do not extend to Canadian citizens and residents the same right to remuneration as the Canadian Copyright Act grants in its section 19. This statement limits accordingly the protection afforded in Canada to nationals of these countries.

  9. Regulations Defining "Advertising Revenues"
    SOR/98-447 August 31, 1998

    Subsection 68.1(1)(a)(i) of the Copyright Act sets at $100 the amount of royalties to be paid for the neighbouring rights that wireless transmission systems shall pay on their first 1.25 million dollars of annual advertising revenues. This Regulation prescribes the meaning of the term "advertising revenues" thus defining the rate base that will be used to determine which part of a wireless transmission system's revenues benefits from the $100 special royalty rate.

  10. Definition of "Wireless Transmission System" Regulations
    SOR/98-307 May 28, 1998

    The Copyright Act provides that the Copyright Board is now responsible for approving tariffs for the commonly referred to as "neighbouring rights" (the rights of performers and makers of sound recordings). This Regulation prescribe the meaning of the term "wireless transmission system", thus defining who will be the beneficiaries of the special and transitional royalty rate included in the Copyright Act pertaining to the royalties to be paid for these new rights.

  11. Copyright Regulations
    SOR/97-457 October 1, 1997

    Copyright Rules have been repealed and replaced with these new regulations. The changes were necessary in order to meet Canada's harmonization obligations under the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement, to allow an increase in the copyright fees payable for services to accurately reflect the cost to the government of administering the copyright registration system, and to modernize the copyright registration process administered by the Copyright Office. The amendments to the Regulations relate to how one may communicate with the Copyright Office as well as modify the Schedule.

  12. Regulations Establishing the Period Within Which Owners of Copyright not Represented by Collective Societies Can Claim Retransmission Royalties
    SOR/97-164 March 19, 1997

    Subsection 76(1) [formerly section 70.66] of the Copyright Act provides among other things that a retransmission rights owner who does not authorize a collecting body to act on the owner's behalf [a so-called "orphan" owner] can seek payment for the use of the work from the collecting body that is designated by the Board for that purpose. Paragraph 76(4)(b)(v) provides that the Board may, by regulation, establish a period of not less than twelve months from the date of the retransmission within which this entitlement must be exercised. These Regulations establish that period at two years after the end of the calendar year in which the retransmission occurred, where the retransmission occurred on January 1, 1997 or after. Amendments to the Act made in 1997 and 2003 renumbered the provisions dealing with retransmission and the March 19, 1997 Regulations contained a reference to this section. Also, amendments made in 1997, which broadened the scope of sections 71 to 76 of the Act also made it necessary to be more specific about the ambit of the March 19, 1997 Regulations by indicating that they only target retransmission and not other acts that are now subject to sections 71 to 76. Finally, the March 19, 1997 Regulations contained a provision dealing with any retransmission made before January 1, 1997; that provision is now obsolete. It was therefore necessary to amend the March 19, 1997 Regulations so as to reflect those changes.

  13. Reproduction of Federal Law Order
    SI/97-5 January 8, 1997

    Federal statutes and regulations and the decisions of courts and tribunals can be copied without the usual restrictions on Crown copyrighted materials. There is no requirement to seek permission and there are no fees. This measure applies only to federal Crown copyrighted material and has no effect on privately copyrighted material that is added to or packaged with primary federal legal information. The amendment to the Order harmonizes its French and English versions and makes technical amendments to the French version.

  14. Definition of "Small Cable Transmission System" Regulations
    SOR/94-755 December 6, 1994

    Sections 67.1 and 68 [formerly 67, 67.1 and 67.2] of the Copyright Act give the Copyright Board the power to set fees for the telecommunication to the public of musical works. Subsection 68.1(4) [formerly 67.2(1.1)] provides that when certifying such a tariff, the Board must set a preferential rate for small cable transmission systems. The Definition of Small Cable Transmission System Regulations define a small cable transmission system as a cable transmission system that transmits a signal, with or without a fee, to not more than 2,000 premises in the same licensed area. There are some exceptions to this definition. The 2005 amendment replaces the long titles of the Regulations, modifies the definitions in section 2 and, accordingly, substitutes the term "licence area" with "service area" throughout the rest of the Regulations. The 2014 amendment replaces the term "cāble" with "fil" in subsection 3(2) of the French version of the Regulations.

  15. Programming Undertaking Regulations
    SOR/93-436 August 31, 1993

    Subsection 2.4(1) [formerly 3(1.4)] of the Copyright Act provides that the persons who are part of programming undertaking whose operations result in the communication of works to the public by telecommunication are jointly and severally liable for that communication. The Programming Undertaking Regulations define a "programming undertaking" as a network (other than a network within the meaning of the Broadcasting Act) consisting of a person who transmits by telecommunication programming to another person who, in turn, communicates that programming to the public by telecommunication.

  16. Retransmission Royalties Criteria Regulations
    SOR/91-690 November 28, 1991

    The Regulations establish the criteria to which the Copyright Board must have regard, amongst others, in setting retransmission tariffs.

  17. Definition of Small Retransmission Systems Regulations
    SOR/89-255 May 9, 1989

    The Regulations define the "Small Retransmission Systems", for the purpose of subsection 74(1) [formerly 70.64(1)] of the Copyright Act, as a cable retransmission system or a terrestrial retransmission system utilizing Hertzian waves that retransmits a signal, with or without a fee, to no more than 1,000 premises in the same community. The amendments modify various provisions in the Regulations, such as the maximum number of premises a retransmitter can reach in a community to be considered a small retransmission system and various definitions and exceptions.

  18. Local Signal and Distant Signal Regulations
    SOR/89-254 May 9, 1989

    Subsection 31(2) [formerly 28.01(2)] of the Copyright Act sets out conditions under which the retransmission of broadcast signals (i.e. available over-the-air) does not constitute an infringement of copyright. It also provides for the payment of royalties for the retransmission of distant (as opposed to local) signals. The Local Signal and Distant Signal Regulations define the terms "local signal" and "distant signal" for the purposes of that subsection. The amendments modify the definition of "local signal", to make it applicable to all retransmitters eligible for the compulsory license set out in section 31 of the Copyright Act and eliminate the special rule for wireless terrestrial retransmitters. They also replace paragraph 1(a) of the Regulations. The definition of a local signal is relevant for the Copyright Board tariff setting exercise.

  19. Certification of Countries Granting Equal Copyright Protection Notice
    C.R.C., c. 421 15 August 1978

    This notice certifies which countries grant or have agreed to grant copyright protection to Canadian citizens on the same or similar terms as granted to their own citizens or as conferred by the Copyright Act.

Commission du droit d'auteur Canada
Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

RÈGLEMENTS SUR LE DROIT D'AUTEUR

  1. Déclaration limitant le droit à rémunération équitable pour certains pays parties à la Convention de Rome ou au Traité de l’OIEP
    DORS/2014-181 30 juillet 2014

    Certains des pays parties à la Convention de Rome et au Traité de l'OMPI sur les interprétations et exécutions et les phonogrammes (OIEP) n'accordent pas aux citoyens et résidents canadiens un droit à rémunération semblable à celui prévu à l'article 19 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada. La déclaration limite en conséquence la protection dont jouissent au Canada les ressortissants de ces pays.

  2. Règlement fixant les périodes pendant lesquelles les auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs admissibles non représentés par une société de gestion peuvent réclamer une rémunération pour la copie à usage privé
    DORS/2013-143 27 juin 2013

    Le paragraphe 83(11) de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit entre autres que l'auteur, artiste-interprète ou producteur admissible qui n'a pas habilité une société de gestion à agir à son profit [le titulaire « orphelin »] peut être rémunéré pour la copie à usage privé par la société de perception que la Commission désigne à cette fin, soit la Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée (la SCPCP). L'alinéa 83(13)b) prévoit que la Commission peut fixer par règlement les périodes de réclamations qui ne sauraient être moins de moins de douze mois à compter de la cessation d'effet d'un tarif homologué.

  3. Règlement d'exclusion visant les cartes microSD (Loi sur le droit d'auteur)
    DORS/2012-226 18 octobre 2012

    Ce règlement exclut les cartes mémoires de format microSD de la définition de « support audio » à l'article 79 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur.

  4. Règlement sur les obligations de rapport relatives aux émissions, œuvres et autres objets du droit d'auteur reproduits à des fins pédagogiques
    DORS/2001-296 31 août 2001

    Depuis le 1er janvier 1999, les établissements d'enseignement et les personnes agissant sous leur autorité peuvent, sans l'autorisation du titulaire du droit d'auteur, reproduire des émissions ou autres objets du droit d'auteur, lors de leur communication au public, et présenter ces exemplaires devant un auditoire formé principalement d'élèves. Les institutions peuvent se prévaloir de cette exception à la condition, entre autres, de consigner certains renseignements en ce qui concerne les reproductions, destructions, exécutions en public et étiquetage et de faire part de ces renseignements aux sociétés de gestion. Le présent règlement, pris en application du paragraphe 29.9(2) de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, établit ces exigences.

  5. Règlement sur la désignation de réseaux (Loi sur le droit d'auteur)
    DORS/99-348 1er octobre 1999

    Ce règlement vise à circonscrire l'exception prévue dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur permettant aux stations de radio et de télévision de faire des reproductions temporaires de prestation d'œuvres protégées pour faciliter la programmation et la transmission des émissions.

  6. Règlement sur les cas d'exception à l'égard des établissements d'enseignement, des bibliothèques, des musées et des services d'archives
    DORS/99-325 1er septembre 1999

    Ce règlement vise à circonscrire les exceptions prévues dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur permettant aux bibliothèques, archives et musées sans but lucratif, y compris les bibliothèques faisant partie d'établissements d'enseignement, de reproduire des œuvres protégées à des fins d'étude privée, de recherche, de critique ou de compte rendu, d'éducation, de parodie ou de satire et dans d'autres cas spéciaux. Les modifications au règlement ont pour effet d'abroger les articles 5 et 7 et ajoute une obligation pour les services d'archives d'informer, par écrit, les nouveaux usagers que toute reproduction d'une œuvre doit être faite à des fins d'étude privée ou de recherche et que toute autre utilisation peut exiger l'autorisation du titulaire du droit d'auteur.

  7. Règlement sur l'importation de livres
    DORS/99-324 1er septembre 1999

    La Loi sur le droit d'auteur comporte des dispositions aidant davantage les distributeurs exclusifs à protéger leurs droits de distribution exclusive sur le marché canadien par rapport à l'importation parallèle de livres. L'importation parallèle désigne l'importation au Canada de livres qui sont publiés légalement dans leur pays d'origine, mais dont l'importation se fait sans l'autorisation du titulaire des droits au Canada. Le règlement établit les critères que les distributeurs exclusifs devront respecter s'ils veulent profiter de la protection supplémentaire que leur accorde le régime. Il précise aussi les catégories de livres qui sont partiellement ou complètement exclues des mesures relatives à l'importation parallèle. Les modifications au règlement par rapport aux avis, aux dates limites, etc. sont de nature technique.

  8. Règlement sur les œuvres cinématographiques visées par un droit à rémunération
    DORS/99-194 22 avril 1999

    La Loi sur le droit d'auteur, donne des droits aux artistes-interprètes. Parmi eux, le droit à rémunération des artistes-interprètes à l'égard des œuvres cinématographiques incorporant leurs prestations. Le présent règlement prescrit les catégories d'œuvres cinématographiques visées par ce droit à rémunération. Ce droit s'applique seulement lorsque le contrat autorisant l'incorporation de la prestation de l'artiste-interprète a été conclu le ou après le jour de l'entrée en vigueur du présent règlement.

  9. Déclaration limitant le droit à rémunération équitable pour certains pays parties à la Convention de Rome
    DORS/99-143 23 mars 1999

    Certains des pays parties à la Convention de Rome n'accordent pas aux citoyens et résidents canadiens un droit à rémunération semblable à celui prévu à l'article 19 de la Loi canadienne sur le droit d'auteur. La déclaration limite en conséquence la protection dont jouissent au Canada les ressortissants de ces pays. Ce Règlement a été abrogé et remplacé par la Déclaration limitant le droit à rémunération équitable pour certains pays parties à la Convention de Rome ou au Traité de l’OIEP (DORS/2014-181). Voir le Règlement numéro 20, ci-dessus, pour cette Déclaration.

  10. Règlement sur la définition de recettes publicitaires
    DORS/98-447 31 août 1998

    Le sous-alinéa 68.1(1)a)(i) de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur établit à 100 $ le montant des redevances que doivent payer les systèmes de transmission radioélectriques pour les droits voisins sur la partie de leurs recettes publicitaires annuelles qui ne dépasse pas 1,25 million de dollars. Le présent règlement définit ce qu'il faut entendre par l'expression « recettes publicitaires » et ainsi précise l'assiette tarifaire servant à établir la part des revenus des systèmes de transmission par ondes radioélectriques assujettie au tarif spécial de 100 $.

  11. Règlement sur la définition de « système de transmission par ondes radioélectriques »
    DORS/98-307 28 mai 1998

    La Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit que la Commission du droit d'auteur est dorénavant responsable de l'homologation des tarifs reliés à ce que sont communément appelés les « droits voisins » (les droits des artistes-interprètes et des producteurs d'enregistrements sonores). Le présent règlement définit ce qu'il faut entendre par « système de transmission par ondes radioélectriques », et précise ainsi quels seront les bénéficiaires du tarif spécial et transitoire prévu dans la Loi sur le droit d'auteur en ce qui concerne les redevances à être payées en vertu de ces nouveaux droits.

  12. Règlement sur le droit d'auteur
    DORS/97-457 1er octobre 1997

    Les Règles sur le droit d'auteur ont été abrogées intégralement et remplacées par ce nouveau règlement. Les modifications s'imposaient afin que le Canada puisse remplir ses obligations en matière d'harmonisation selon l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA) et l'Accord sur l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC), et que les droits à payer pour les services fournis par le Bureau du droit d'auteur tiennent mieux compte des frais engagés par le gouvernement pour l'administration du système d'enregistrement des droits d'auteur et que le processus d'enregistrement du droit d'auteur administré par le Bureau du droit d'auteur soit modernisé. Les modifications au règlement ont pour effet de spécifier comment une personne peut communiquer avec le Bureau du droit d'auteur et remplacent certains articles de l'annexe.

  13. Règlement fixant le délai dans lequel les titulaires de droits d'auteur non représentés par des sociétés de gestion peuvent réclamer des redevances pour la retransmission
    DORS/97-164 19 mars 1997

    Le paragraphe 76(1) [anciennement l'article 70.66] de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit entre autres que le titulaire de droits de retransmission qui n'a pas habilité une société de perception à agir à son profit [le titulaire « orphelin »] peut être rémunéré pour cette utilisation par la société de perception que la Commission désigne à cette fin. L'alinéa 76(4)b)(v) prévoit que la Commission peut fixer par règlement les délais de déchéance pour les réclamations, qui ne sauraient être de moins de douze mois à compter de la retransmission. Le Règlement établit ce délai à deux ans suivant la fin de l'année civile au cours de laquelle l'œuvre est retransmise, dans le cas d'une œuvre retransmise le 1er janvier 1997 ou après. Des modifications à la Loi intervenues en 1997 et en 2003 ont renuméroté les dispositions traitant de la retransmission. Le règlement du 19 mars 1997 faisait référence à une de ces dispositions. Par ailleurs, des modifications intervenues en 1997 et qui étendent le champ d'application des articles 71 à 76 de la Loi ont rendu nécessaire de préciser la portée exacte du règlement du 19 mars 1997, en indiquant qu'il traite uniquement de retransmission et non des autres actes désormais visés par ces articles 71 à 76. Enfin, le règlement du 19 mars 1997 contenait une disposition désormais caduque traitant des retransmissions intervenues avant le 1er janvier 1997. Il était donc nécessaire de modifier le règlement afin de refléter ces changements.

  14. Décret sur la reproduction de la législation fédérale et des tribunaux de constitution fédérale
    TR/97-5 8 janvier 1997

    Décret autorisant la reproduction des lois, des règlements et des décisions des cours et des tribunaux qui relèvent du gouvernement fédéral. Il n'y a désormais plus d'obligation d'obtenir une autorisation ni de droits à payer. Cette mesure ne s'applique qu'aux documents sur lesquels la Couronne fédérale détient les droits d'auteur et non aux documents assujettis au droit d'auteur de personnes privées qui accompagnent parfois les sources premières d'information juridique du gouvernement fédéral. Le Décret modifiant le Décret sur la reproduction de la législation fédérale vise à harmoniser les versions anglaise et française et apporte aussi quelques modifications techniques à la version française.

  15. Règlement sur la définition de « petit système de transmission par fil »
    TR/94-755 6 décembre 1994

    Les articles 67.1 et 68 [anciennement 67, 67.1 et 67.2] de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur donnent à la Commission du droit d'auteur le pouvoir d'établir des droits pour la communication d'œuvres musicales au public par télécommunication. Le paragraphe 68.1(4) [anciennement 67.2(1.1)] prévoit que lorsqu'elle homologue un tel tarif, la Commission est tenue de fixer un taux préférentiel pour les petits systèmes de transmission par fil. Le Règlement sur la définition de petit système de transmission par fil définit le terme « petit système de transmission par fil » comme étant un système qui dessert, à titre gracieux ou non, au plus 2000 locaux dans la même zone de desserte. Il y a toutefois des exceptions à cette définition. La modification de 2005 remplace le titre intégral du règlement, modifie les définitions à l'article 2 et, en conséquence, substitue le terme « zone de service » à « zone de desserte ». La modification de 2014 remplace le mot « câble » par « fil » au paragraphe 3(2) de la version française.

  16. Règlement sur les entreprises de programmation
    TR/93-436 31 août 1993

    Le paragraphe 2.4(1) [anciennement 3(1.4)] de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit que les personnes faisant partie d'une entreprise de programmation dont les activités se traduisent par la communication d'œuvres au public par télécommunication sont solidairement responsables de cette communication. Le Règlement sur les entreprises de programmation définit le terme « entreprise de programmation » comme étant un réseau (autre qu'un réseau au sens de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion) composé d'une personne qui transmet par télécommunication, une programmation à une seconde personne qui, à son tour, la transmet au public par télécommunication.

  17. Règlement sur les critères applicables aux droits à payer pour la retransmission
    DORS/91-690 28 novembre 1991

    Ce Règlement édicte les critères dont la Commission du droit d'auteur devra, notamment, tenir compte pour la fixation des droits de retransmission.

  18. Règlement sur la définition de petit système de retransmission
    TR/89-255 9 mai 1989

    Le Règlement définit, pour l'application du paragraphe 74(1) [anciennement 70.64(1)] de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, comme « petit système de retransmission » le système de retransmission par câble ou le système terrestre de retransmission par ondes hertziennes, qui retransmet un signal, à titre gratuit ou non, à au plus 1000 locaux situés dans la même localité. Les modifications au règlement changent le nombre maximal de locaux dans une zone de service auquel un système de retransmission peut offrir ses services pour être considéré comme un petit système et changent plusieurs définitions et exceptions.

  19. Règlement sur la définition de signal local et de signal éloigné
    TR/89-254 9 mai 1989

    Le paragraphe 31(2) [anciennement 28.01(2)] de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur énonce les conditions auxquelles la retransmission de signaux de radiodiffusion conventionnels (captables avec une antenne) ne constitue pas une violation du droit d'auteur. Il prévoit aussi le paiement de redevances pour la retransmission de signaux éloignés (par opposition aux signaux locaux). Le Règlement sur la définition de signal local et signal éloigné définit les termes « signal local » et « signal éloigné » aux fins de ce paragraphe. Les modifications au règlement changent la définition de l'expression « signal local » qui s'appliquera désormais à tous les retransmetteurs admissibles à la licence obligatoire mentionnée à l'article 31 de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur et élimine la règle spéciale applicable aux retransmetteurs terrestres sans fil. Elles remplacent aussi l'alinéa 1a) du règlement. La définition du signal local est utile à la Commission du droit d'auteur pour l'exercice d'établissement des tarifs.

  20. Avis certifiant que des pays accordent les avantages du droit d'auteur
    C.R.C., ch. 421 15 août 1978

    Cet avis certifie que les pays mentionnés accordent ou se sont engagé à accorder aux citoyens canadiens les mêmes droits qui sont accordés à leurs citoyens ou les droits accordés par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur.