Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

DECISIONS - PRIVATE COPYING
BACKGROUNDER

Copyright Board's Private Copying 2001-2002 Decision

December 15, 2000

1. What is the Copyright Board?

The Copyright Board is an economic regulatory body empowered to establish, either mandatorily or at the request of an interested party, the royalties to be paid for the use of works protected by copyright, when the administration of these rights is entrusted to a collective society. The Board also supervises agreements signed between users and collective societies and can issue licences when the copyright owners cannot be located.

2. What is "Private Copying"?

Before the Copyright Act was amended in 1998, copying any sound recording for almost any purpose infringed copyright, although, in practice, the prohibition was largely unenforceable. The amendment to the Act legalized private copying of sound recordings of musical works onto audio recording media - i.e., the copying of pre-recorded music for the private use of the person who makes the copy. In addition, the amendment made provision for the imposition of a levy on blank audio recording media to compensate authors, performers and makers who own copyright in eligible sound recordings being copied for private use.

3. Which blank audio recording media are subject to the levy?

Analog Audio Cassette Tapes: All analog audio cassettes with a recording time of 40 minutes or more are subject to the private copying levy. No distinction is made among types of cassettes (e.g., normal versus high bias cassettes), nor between standard length and custom length cassettes or cassettes with other characteristics (e.g., record protect tabs removed) that may make them less suited to private copying.

CD-R and CD-RW: These digital media are typically used in CD writers found in personal computer systems. They are used to record and store data, including digital sound recordings.

CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDisc: CD-R Audio and CD-RW Audio are recordable and re-writeable digital media formats, respectively, that are electronically marked for use in certain consumer audio recording equipment. MiniDisc is a re-writeable digital medium (i.e., a 2 ½ inch disc) that relies on data-compression to store recorded music.

Other recording media, including Digital Audio Tapes and microcassettes, typically not used for private copying, are not subject to a levy. Some media, such as MP3 player memory cards, are not subject to the levy because the Canadian Private Collective Society (CPCC) did not ask for one. As markets evolve, new types of blank audio recording media used for private copying may be identified and be made subject to a levy.

4. I buy blank CDs regularly to use in my computer. Are they subject to the levy and if so, how much is it?

Both "ordinary" CD-Rs and CD-RWs and their "Audio" counterparts can be used to copy music. Having said this, most CDs used to copy music are "ordinary" CD-Rs and CD-RWs (for which the levy is 21¢), not "Audio" products (for which the levy is 77¢).

CD-R Audio and CD-RW Audio products were created at least in part to comply with US legal requirements. They are encoded so as to be recognized as audio products when played on digital audio recording equipment and may not be readable by all CD-ROM drives. Otherwise, they are technologically identical to their non-Audio counterparts.

CD-Rs Audio and CD-RWs Audio are marketed as such, and are sold at a much higher price (sometimes twice as much or more) than "ordinary" CD-Rs and CD-RWs. They also represent less than one per cent of the Canadian recordable CD market.

From a practical perspective, if the package of blank CDs you purchase does not state that they are Audio CDs or "for music use only", then they are subject to a levy of 21¢.

The use to which a recordable CD is actually being put does not determine whether it is subject or not to the levy. Manufacturers and importers of blank CDs pay royalties on all the CDs they sell blank.

5. How were the new levies for 2001 and 2002 established?

The Copyright Board conducted a public proceeding, starting in March of this year and recently concluding with public hearings in November, to review and set new levies for 2001 and 2002. CPCC filed evidence and proposed levies for this period on behalf of eligible rights holders (i.e., eligible authors, performers and makers). Major manufacturers and importers of blank audio recording media were represented in the proceeding by the Canadian Storage Media Alliance (CSMA).

The new rates announced today are based on the evidence provided by these parties along with testimony provided by expert witnesses appearing on their behalf during the public hearings phase of the proceeding. The case was heard by a panel of Copyright Board members composed of the Honourable Mr. Justice John H. Gomery, Chairman, Stephen J. Callary, Vice-Chairman and CEO and Sylvie Charron, Member. The decision was unanimous.

6. When will the Board's reasons explaining how the new levies were set be issued?

The public hearings phase of the proceeding was completed only a few weeks ago in late November. In order to ensure that the new levies could be implemented on schedule for January 1, 2001, the Board released its decision regarding the level of the new rates today. However, the detailed reasons for the new levies, explaining the methodology and data used to set them, will be issued early in the New Year.

7. What are the new private copying levy rates set by the Board?

Effective January 1, 2001, the Board has certified that the following levies come into effect:

- Analog Audio Cassette Tape (of 40 minutes or more in length): 29¢ per unit
- CD-R and CD-RW: 21¢ per unit
- CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDisc: 77¢ per unit

The new levies are certified by the Board for the years 2001 and 2002.

8. The new levies have increased from current levels. What are existing levy rates?

The existing private copying levies, which were set by the Board in December 1999, are as follows:

- Analog Audio Cassette Tape (of 40 minutes or more in length): 23.3¢ per unit
- CD-R and CD-RW: 5.2¢ per unit
- CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDisc: 60.8¢ per unit

These levies remain in effect until December 31, 2000.

9. Why have the levies been increased?

In setting the new levies, the Board took into account the evidence and testimony provided by both the CPCC and CSMA. This evidence demonstrated that significant changes in private copying behaviour had occurred over the last year since the Board set the existing rates including, among other things, increased usage of digital media, such as CD-Rs, for the copying of pre-recorded music. The Board's detailed reasons for its decision regarding the new levies will be issued early in the New Year.

10. Who pays the levy?

Manufacturers and importers are responsible for paying the levy on each unit of leviable media that they sell or otherwise dispose of in Canada. While the levy is paid at the wholesale level, the cost of the levy could be borne, in whole or in part, by retailers and other distributors and, in turn, passed on to consumers. Consequently, while prices for blank audio recording media have generally been declining, the prices consumers pay for recording media could likely be higher than otherwise as a result of the new levy rates.

Based on its projections of leviable blank audio recording media sales in Canada for 2001 and 2002, the Board expects that the private copying levies will generate approximately $27 million in 2001 and $32 million in 2002.

11. Who benefits from the levy?

The entitlement to receive remuneration in respect of private copying of sound recordings applies to eligible authors, performers and makers. This is a corollary to the right of individuals to copy musical works for their own private use.

The Canadian Private Copying Collective (CPCC) has been designated as the collecting body for the private copying levy. CPCC is also responsible for distributing the funds generated by the levy to the collective societies representing eligible authors, eligible performers and eligible makers. The member collectives of CPCC include:

  • Canadian Mechanical Reproduction Rights Agency (CMRRA)
  • Neighbouring Rights Collective of Canada (NRCC)
  • Société de gestion des droits des artistes-musiciens (SOGEDAM)
  • Society for Reproduction Rights of Authors, Composers and Publishers in Canada (SODRAC)
  • Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN).

12. Is anyone exempt from paying the levy?

The Board cannot grant exemptions from the levy. However, the Copyright Act does grant one exemption to associations representing persons with perceptual disabilities. In this respect, to help mitigate the effect of the levy on certain groups, the CPCC has implemented a zero-rating scheme which permits manufacturers and importers to sell blank audio recording media to certain categories of users without having to pay the levy. These include religious organizations, broadcasters, law enforcement agencies, courts, tribunals, court reporters, provincial ministers of education and members of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada, music and advertising industries. This waiver applies to all blank audio recording media except CD-Rs and CR-RWs. Those interested in finding out more about the terms and conditions of the zero-rating scheme may contact CPCC at telephone (416) 486-6832 or visit its Web site at: www.cpcc.ca.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

DÉCISIONS - COPIE PRIVÉE
FEUILLET D'INFORMATION

Décision de la Commission du droit d'auteur
Copie pour usage privé 2001-2002

Le 15 décembre 2000

1. Qu'est-ce que la Commission du droit d'auteur?

La Commission est un organisme de réglementation économique investi du pouvoir d'établir, soit de façon obligatoire, soit à la demande d'un intéressé, les redevances qui doivent être versées pour l'utilisation d'oeuvres protégées par le droit d'auteur, lorsque la gestion de ce droit est confiée à une société de gestion collective. La Commission exerce aussi un pouvoir de surveillance des ententes intervenues entre utilisateurs et sociétés de gestion et peut délivrer des licences lorsque le titulaire du droit d'auteur est introuvable.

2. Qu'est-ce que la «copie privée»?

Avant que la Loi sur le droit d'auteur soit modifiée en 1998, la reproduction d'un enregistrement sonore constituait dans presque tous les cas une violation du droit d'auteur, mais en pratique, cette interdiction était pour ainsi dire inapplicable. La modification apportée à la Loi a légalisé la copie d'enregistrements sonores d'oeuvres musicales sur un support audio pour l'usage privé de la personne qui fait la copie (la «copie pour usage privé» ou encore, tout simplement, «copie privée»). La modification à la Loi a aussi prévu l'imposition d'une redevance sur les supports audio vierges, laquelle vise à rémunérer les auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs titulaires d'un droit d'auteur sur ces enregistrements sonores utilisés pour faire de la copie privée.

3. Quels supports audio vierges sont assujettis à la redevance?

Les cassettes audio analogiques : Toutes les cassettes audio analogiques d'une durée d'au moins 40 minutes sont assujetties à la redevance. Aucune distinction n'est établie entre les types de cassettes (p. ex., type I ou cassette à polarisation normale, par opposition au type II ou cassette à haute polarisation), ni entre les cassettes à durée standard et celles de durée spéciale ou encore les cassettes présentant d'autres caractéristiques (p. ex., celles dont les dispositifs de protection contre l'enregistrement ont été enlevés) qui les rendent moins aptes à l'utilisation pour la copie privée.

Les CD-R et les CD-RW : Ces supports numériques sont typiquement utilisés dans les graveurs CD qui font partie d'ordinateurs personnels. Ils servent à enregistrer et à emmagasiner des données, y compris des enregistrements sonores numériques.

Les CD-R audio, les CD-RW audio et les MiniDisc : Le CD-R audio et le CD-RW audio sont des formats numériques enregistrables et réinscriptibles, respectivement, qui sont marqués électroniquement en vue d'une utilisation dans certains matériels d'enregistrement audio destinés aux consommateurs. Le MiniDisc est un support numérique réinscriptible de 2 ½ pouces de diamètre qui fait appel à la compression des données pour emmagasiner de la musique enregistrée.

D'autres supports audio, dont les bandes audionumériques et les microcassettes, qui ne sont généralement pas utilisés pour la copie privée, ne sont pas assujettis à une redevance. Certains, telles les cartes mémoire pour platines MP3, ne font pas l'objet de redevances parce que la Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée (SCPCP) n'a pas demandé qu'ils le soient. Au fur et à mesure de l'évolution des marchés, de nouveaux types de supports audio vierges servant à l'enregistrement de copies privées pourront être identifiés et assujettis à une redevance.

4. J'achète des CD vierges pour utiliser sur mon ordinateur. Ces supports sont-ils assujettis à la redevance et si oui, quel est le montant de cette redevance?

Tant les CD-R et CD-RW «ordinaires» que leurs pendants «audio» peuvent servir à copier de la musique. Cela dit, la plupart de ceux qui sont utilisés à cette fin sont des CD-R et CD-RW «ordinaires» (assujettis à une redevance de 21¢), pas des produits «audio» (assujettis à une redevance de 77¢).

Les CD-R audio et CD-RW audio ont été conçus en partie dans le but de répondre aux exigences juridiques du marché américain. Ils sont codés de façon à être reconnus comme des produits audio s'ils sont lus sur un équipement d'enregistrement audionumérique; certains lecteurs CD ne peuvent les décoder. Ils sont par ailleurs technologiquement identiques à leurs équivalents non audio.

La mise en marché des CD-R audio et CD-RW audio reflète ces facteurs. Leur prix est beaucoup plus élevé (souvent le double ou même davantage) que celui des CD-R et CD-RW «ordinaires». Par ailleurs, leur part du marché canadien est inférieure à un pour cent.

En pratique, à moins que l'empaquetage des CD vierges que vous avez achetés indique clairement qu'il s'agit de produits audio ou «pour usage musical seulement», ces supports sont assujettis à une redevance de 21¢.

L'usage qui est fait d'un CD enregistrable ne détermine pas s'il est ou non assujetti à la redevance. Les fabricants et importateurs de CD vierges versent des redevances sur tous ceux qu'ils vendent.

5. Comment la Commission a-t-elle établi le montant de la redevance pour 2001 et 2002?

La Commission du droit d'auteur a mené une procédure publique qui a débuté en mars dernier et s'est terminée à la fin de novembre afin de réexaminer la question des redevances et de les établir pour 2001 et 2002. La SCPCP, s'exprimant au nom des titulaires de droits (les auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs admissibles), a déposé une preuve au soutien des montants qu'elle recherchait. Les grands fabricants et importateurs de supports audio vierges étaient représentés par la Canadian Storage Media Alliance (CSMA).

Les nouveaux taux que la Commission a annoncés aujourd'hui sont fondés sur la preuve que ces associations ont versée au dossier ainsi que sur les témoignages des experts ayant comparu à leur demande durant les audiences publiques. L'affaire a été entendue par une formation composée de l'honorable juge John H. Gomery, président, de Stephen J. Callary, vice-président et premier dirigeant et de Me Sylvie Charron, commissaire, qui ont rendu une décision unanime.

6. Quand la Commission expliquera-t-elle comment elle en est arrivée à sa décision?

Les audiences publiques qui ont conclu le processus d'examen se sont terminées il y a moins de trois semaines. De façon à permettre que les nouvelles redevances soient en place à temps pour le 1er janvier 2001, la Commission a émis aujourd'hui sa décision sur le montant des redevances. Cela dit, des motifs détaillés qui expliquent la façon dont la Commission est arrivée à ces montants et les données dont elle s'est servie pour ce faire seront émises au début de la nouvelle année.

7. À combien se chiffrent les redevances pour la copie privée établies par la Commission?

À partir du 1er janvier 2001, les redevances que la Commission a homologuées seront les suivantes :

- Cassettes audio analogiques (d'une durée d'au moins 40 minutes) : 29¢ l'unité
- CD-R et CD-RW : 21¢ l'unité
- CD-R audio, CD-RW audio et MiniDisc : 77¢ l'unité

Les redevances sont désormais plus élevées. À combien s'établissaient-elles auparavant?

8. The new levies have increased from current levels. What are existing levy rates?

Les redevances actuelles que la Commission avait homologuées en 1999 et qui demeurent en vigueur jusqu'au 31 décembre 2000, sont :

- Cassettes audio analogiques (d'une durée d'au moins 40 minutes) : 23,3¢ l'unité
- CD-R et CD-RW : 5,2¢ l'unité
- CD-R audio, CD-RW audio et MiniDisc : 60,8¢ l'unité

9. Pourquoi les redevances ont-elles augmenté?

La Commission a tenu compte de l'ensemble de la preuve et des témoignages fournis par la SCPCP et la CSMA avant de décider du montant des redevances. La preuve permettait de conclure à des changements importants dans les habitudes de copie privée depuis que la Commission avait fixé les redevances; c'est le cas, par exemple, d'une utilisation beaucoup plus importante des supports numériques, tels les CD-R, pour copier de la musique pré-enregistrée. La Commission émettra au début de l'an prochain des motifs expliquant de façon détaillée les conclusions auxquelles elle en arrive.

10. Qui paie la redevance?

Les fabricants et les importateurs ont l'obligation de payer la redevance sur chaque unité de support assujetti à la redevance qu'ils vendent ou aliènent au Canada. Même si la redevance est payée au niveau du gros, le coût en sera peut-être assumé, en totalité ou en partie, par les détaillants et autres distributeurs, puis refilé aux consommateurs. Par conséquent, bien que les prix des supports audio vierges aient généralement tendance à baisser, les prix que les consommateurs paieront pour les supports audio pourraient être plus élevés qu'ils ne l'auraient été, en raison de la redevance.

Compte tenu des projections de ventes au Canada de supports assujettis à la redevance en 2001 et 2002, la Commission s'attend à ce que la redevance rapporte environ 27 millions de dollars en 2001 et 32 millions de dollars en 2002.

11. À qui profite la redevance?

Le droit de recevoir une rémunération pour la copie pour usage privé d'enregistrements sonores vise les auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs admissibles. C'est le corollaire du droit de chacun de copier de la musique pour son usage privé.

La Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée (SCPCP) a été désignée à titre d'organisme de perception de la redevance pour la copie privée. La SCPCP a aussi la responsabilité de la répartition des sommes obtenues par la redevance aux sociétés de gestion représentant les auteurs admissibles, les artistes-interprètes admissibles et les producteurs admissibles. Au nombre des sociétés membres de la SCPCP figurent :

  • l'Agence canadienne des droits de reproduction musicaux (ACDRM)
  • la Société canadienne de gestion des droits voisins (SCGDV)
  • la Société de gestion des droits des artistes-musiciens (SOGEDAM)
  • la Société du droit de reproduction des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs au Canada (SODRAC)
  • la Société canadienne des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique (SOCAN).

12. Y a-t-il des exemptions au paiement de la redevance?

La Commission ne peut accorder d'exemptions au paiement de la redevance. Toutefois, la Loi sur le droit d'auteur prévoit une exception dans le cas des associations représentant des personnes ayant une déficience perceptuelle. À cet égard, pour aider à tempérer l'effet de la redevance sur certains groupes, la SCPCP a mis sur pied un régime d'exonération permettant aux fabricants et aux importateurs de vendre des supports audio vierges à certaines catégories d'utilisateurs sans devoir payer la redevance. Ces catégories comprennent les organismes religieux, les radiodiffuseurs, les forces policières, les tribunaux, les sténographes judiciaires, les ministres provinciaux de l'éducation, les membres de l'Association des universités et collèges du Canada, et l'industrie de la musique et de la publicité. Cette exonération vise tous les supports audio vierges, sauf les CD-R et CD-RW. Les personnes intéressées à obtenir de plus amples renseignements peuvent communiquer avec la SCPCP par téléphone, au numéro (416) 486-6832 ou en consultant leur site Web au : www.cpcc.ca.