Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

DECISIONS - PRIVATE COPYING
NEWS RELEASE

Copyright Board Freezes Private Copying Levies for 2003 and 2004

December 12, 2003

Ottawa -- The Copyright Board of Canada has today issued a decision on private copying levies for 2003 and 2004. This is the Board's third substantive private copying decision. The first was issued in 1999. It established Canada's initial private copying levies for 1999 and 2000. The Board's second decision, issued in December 2000, set revised levies for the subsequent two year period, 2001 and 2002. Until today, interim levies had been in effect for 2003 which were set by the Board at levels identical to those in place in the previous two years.

The case was heard by a panel composed of the Honourable Mr. Justice John H. Gomery, Chairman, Stephen J. Callary, Vice-Chairman and CEO, Sylvie Charron and Brigitte Doucet, Members. Vice-Chairman Callary wrote a dissent.

Today's decision freezes all existing private copying levies at their current levels. As a result, the current levies of 29 on audio cassette tapes of 40 minutes or longer (no levy applies to tapes of shorter length), 21 on CD-Rs and CD-RWs and 77 on CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDiscs will remain in effect until the end of 2004.

The Board also sets for the first time a levy on non-removable memory permanently embedded in digital audio recorders (such as MP3 players) at $2 for each recorder with a memory capacity of up to 1 Gigabyte (Gb), $15 for each recorder with memory capacity of more than 1 Gb and up to 10 Gbs, and $25 for each recorder with memory capacity of more than 10 GBs.

The Board denied the Canadian Private Copying Collective's (CPCC) request to establish a levy on blank DVDs, removable memory cards and removable micro hard drives. It finds that the evidence available at this time does not clearly demonstrate that these recording media are ordinarily used by individuals for the purpose of copying music.

Vice-Chairman Callary agreed with the majority on the inadmissibility of DVDs and removable memory cards and micro hard drives. However, he would have certified different rates on medium already subject to a levy. He would have certified a rate of 28 on audio cassette tapes, 29 for CD-Rs, 21 for CD-RWs and 72 for CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDiscs. The rates on non-removable memory would have been the same.

Manufacturers and importers of blank audio recording media are required to pay private copying levies to the CPCC when these media are sold in Canada. The amounts collected by the CPCC are distributed to eligible authors, eligible performers and eligible producers of recorded musical works copied by individuals for personal use in Canada.

When the private copying levies were first implemented in 2000, the CPCC introduced a "zero-rating" program under which manufacturers and importers of blank audio recording media were permitted to sell media levy free to certain parties such as religious organizations, broadcasters, law enforcement agencies, courts, tribunals, court reporters, provincial ministers of education and members of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada, music and advertising industries. Audio cassettes, CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio and MiniDiscs were covered by the program. The CPCC announced some time ago its plan to extend its zero-rating program to include CD-Rs and CD-RWs.

However, objectors raised a number of concerns with the existing or planned extended CPCC's zero-rating program, claiming, among other things, that the program is inherently unauthorized, illegal and unfair. The Board concluded that just as it does not have the legal authority to create levy exemptions under the Copyright Act, nor does the CPCC. As a consequence, the Board concluded that CPCC's existing or proposed expanded zero-rating program is illegal.

In his dissent, Vice-Chairman Callary disagreed with this conclusion and stated his concerns for those many organizations which have relied on the existence of a zero-rating program and that could now find themselves faced with a major unexpected potential liability.

Claude Majeau, Secretary General of the Board, noted that: "In reaching its decision, the Board took into consideration the substantial amount of detailed evidence brought forward by participants to the proceeding, which included comments on the proposed levies from over 1,500 parties and individuals."

Mr. Majeau explained that: "The Board faced many difficult challenges in these proceedings, including conflicting evidence concerning the size of the Canadian market for blank audio recording media required to update existing levies, significant developments in digital recording media technologies and controversial issues relating to the legal status of CPCC's zero-rating program, among others." He added that: "The Board majority found that, based on the available evidence, increasing existing levy rates as proposed by the CPCC was not justified at this time, and that fairness and equity dictated that the status quo for the existing levies be maintained.".

For more information, contact:

Mr. Claude Majeau
Secretary General
Copyright Board of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0C9
Tel: (613) 952-8621
Fax: (613) 952-8630
E-mail: majeau.claude@cb-cda.gc.ca

- 30 -

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

DÉCISIONS - COPIE PRIVÉE
COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE

La Commission du droit d'auteur gèle les redevances
pour la copie privée en 2003 et 2004

Le 12 décembre 2003

Ottawa. La Commission du droit d'auteur du Canada a rendu aujourd'hui une décision établissant les redevances pour la copie privée en 2003 et 2004. Il s'agit de la troisième décision d'importance en copie privée. La première date de 1999 et établissait les premiers taux de redevances au Canada en matière de copie privée, pour les années 1999 et 2000. La seconde décision, rendue en décembre 2000, établissait des taux révisés pour les années 2001 et 2002. Jusqu'à aujourd'hui, des taux provisoires étaient en vigueur pour 2003. Ces taux avaient été établis par la Commission aux mêmes niveaux que ceux qui prévalaient durant les deux années précédentes.

La formation saisie de l'affaire était composée de l'honorable juge John H. Gomery, Président, Stephen J. Callary, Vice-président et premier dirigeant, Sylvie Charron et Brigitte Doucet, commissaires. Monsieur Callary a exprimé une dissidence.

La décision gèle les taux de redevances existants à leur niveau actuel. Les taux de redevances de 29¢ par cassette audio d'une durée d'au moins 40 minutes (il n'y a pas de redevance sur les cassettes d'une durée plus courte), 21¢ par CD-R et CD-RW et 77¢ par CD-R Audio, CD-RW Audio et MiniDisc demeureront donc en vigueur jusqu'à la fin de 2004.

La Commission homologue également, pour la première fois, une redevance pour la mémoire non amovible intégrée en permanence dans un enregistreur audionumérique (par exemple les lecteurs MP3) à 2 $ par enregistreur pouvant enregistrer au plus 1 Gigaoctet (Go) de données, 15 $ par enregistreur pouvant enregistrer plus de 1 Go et au plus 10 Go de données et 25 $ par enregistreur pouvant enregistrer plus de 10 Go de données.

La Commission a rejeté la requête de la Société canadienne de perception de la copie privée (SCPCP) d'établir une redevance pour les DVD vierges, les cartes de mémoire amovibles et les microdisques durs amovibles. La preuve de la présente affaire n'a pas démontré clairement que ces supports sont habituellement utilisés par les consommateurs pour copier de la musique.

Le vice-président Callary a exprimé son accord avec la conclusion de la majorité quant à l'inadmissibilité des DVD et des cartes de mémoire et des microdisques durs amovibles. Il aurait cependant homologué des taux de redevances différents sur les supports faisant déjà l'objet d'une redevance. Il aurait en effet homologué un taux de 28¢ pour les cassettes audio, 29¢ pour les CD-R, 21¢ pour les CD-RW et 72¢ pour les CD-R Audio, les CD-RW Audio et les MiniDisc. Les taux sur la mémoire non amovible auraient été les mêmes.

Les fabricants et les importateurs de supports audio vierges sont tenus de payer la redevance à la SCPCP lorsque ces supports sont vendus au Canada. Les montants perçus par la SCPCP sont redistribués aux auteurs, artistes-interprètes et producteurs admissibles d'enregistrements sonores copiés à des fins d'usage privé au Canada.

Au moment de la mise en oeuvre du tarif initial de copie privée, en 2000, la SCPCP a mis sur pied un programme d'exonération permettant aux fabricants et aux importateurs de vendre des supports audio vierges à certaines catégories d'utilisateurs sans devoir payer la redevance. Ces catégories comprenaient les organismes religieux, les radiodiffuseurs, les forces policières, les tribunaux, les sténographes judiciaires, les ministres provinciaux de l'éducation, les membres de l'Association des universités et collèges du Canada, et l'industrie de la musique et de la publicité. L'exonération visait les cassettes audio, les CD-R Audio, les CD-RW Audio et les MiniDisc. La SCPCP a par la suite annoncé son intention d'étendre la portée du programme d'exonération de la redevance pour y inclure les CD-R et les CD-RW.

Les opposants ont cependant présenté un certain nombre d'objections quant au programme d'exonération existant ou étendu, prétendant entre autres qu'il est sans fondement juridique, illégal et injuste. La Commission conclut que ni elle, ni la SCPCP ne sont compétentes pour exempter ceux qui, aux termes de la Loi sur le droit d'auteur, sont tenus de payer une redevance. La Commission considère donc que le programme d'exonération, existant ou étendu, est illégal.

Dans sa dissidence, le vice-président Callary a exprimé son désaccord avec cette conclusion et fait part de son inquiétude pour les organisations qui dépendent de l'existence du programme et qui pourraient maintenant devoir faire face à des dépenses additionnelles importantes et imprévues.

Claude Majeau, le secrétaire général de la Commission, a noté que : « Pour arriver à cette décision, la Commission a tenu compte d'une preuve importante et détaillée que les participants lui avaient soumise, incluant des commentaires provenant de plus de 1500 organisations et individus. »

M. Majeau a expliqué que : « Dans la présente affaire, la Commission a fait face à un défi considérable. Elle a reçu une preuve contradictoire au sujet de la taille du marché canadien des supports audio vierges, information nécessaire pour mettre à jour les taux de redevances. Elle a également été saisie de changements significatifs dans les technologies d'enregistrement numérique et de questions controversées liées au statut juridique du programme d'exonération de la redevance, entre autres choses. Dans de telles circonstances, ajoute-t-il, la majorité conclut qu'à la lumière de la preuve disponible, il apparaît non justifié d'accroître les taux de redevances tel que l'a demandé la SCPCP et estime que la justice et l'équité sont mieux servis par une stabilité des taux de redevances. »

Pour des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec :

Me Claude Majeau
Secrétaire général
Commission du droit d'auteur
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C9
Téléphone : (613) 952-8621
Télécopieur : (613) 952-8630
Courriel : majeau.claude@cb-cda.gc.ca

Note : Le tarif homologué, ainsi qu'un feuillet d'information, se trouvent sous la rubrique «Quoi de neuf» du site Web de la Commission à l'adresse suivante : www.cb-cda.gc.ca

- 30 -